Last minute sun ... essential life choice


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Corsica » Bonifacio
October 9th 2010
Published: January 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

FilitosaFilitosaFilitosa

A little bit of Corsican pre-history
Sunnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn!

Last chance to get some sun, sea and relaxation before the cold of winter sets in so when a friend asked me to join here and a few friends in Corsica, who was I to say no? Corsica has never been high on the list of places to go in my travels, but having been, it's a beautiful part of the world. A mountainous island in the middle of the meditteranean it combines blue/green water, white beaches, old villages and amazing mountains.

Flying in a day after everyone else to Ajaccio I hired a car to make my own way across the island which gave me a great excuse for a detour to Filitosa via the scenic mountainous roads. Filitosa is a prehistoric site near Propriana scattered with menhirs (stones carved with human aspects!). I spent an hour or 2 wandering around before getting back on the main road around the island until I decided on another detour. I wanted to go through the mountains and managed to find a path least (or rarely) travelled. I headed off the main road at Sartene to follow the gps route on my phone. The roads got more and more narrow, unpopulated except for the wild boar and once I hit the rutted dirt road I did wonder if I was going to become one of those news stories about mad tourists who follow their GPS off a cliff. I questioned my wisdom, but was having so much fun dodging rocks, ruts and loose dirt ... I pressed on! The mountains were amazing and it was nice to have a little adventure all by myself. Needless to say I made it out the other side in one piece and arrived at our villa in Porto Vecchio to join the crew.

The aim of the week was relaxation so it was a mix of hanging by the pool, eating, drinking and a few side visits. We managed to squeeze in some beach time at Sperone near Bonafacio and Santa Giulia, a visit to the mountains to do a waterfall/walk/scramble as well as taking in the sights of Bonafacio and Porto-Vecchio (it was relaxed really!).

Highlight site of the visit was Bonafacio, a gorgeous town, perched on the top and edge of cliffs with narrow lanes and tall buildings sheltering a hidden harbour behind. For me the real highlight activity was
RoadtrippppppRoadtrippppppRoadtripppppp

my trusty car in the middle of nowhere
our trip up into the mountains for our waterfall walk. Apparently there are 17 or 18 waterfalls you can reach as long as you are prepared to swim through the pools and scramble over the rocks to get there. It was fun, but our committment to making the higher waterfalls lacked something so we made our way up as far as we all felt comfortable then went back down for a swim or 2 in the first pool which was 'refreshing!'.

I'll let the pics do the talking!




Additional photos below
Photos: 48, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0297s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb