Still in Pieces... (by Lettie)


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Champagne-Ardenne
October 30th 2008
Published: February 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Arrival_Troyes, FranceArrival_Troyes, FranceArrival_Troyes, France

Respite at Last_The Grand Hotel Across the Street From the Station
Paris to Troyes...

As we passed through Paris last night I felt disappointed about missing out on seeing some of the world's most loved sites, of which I had heard so much. And, since we took the train right around the city as well as at night, I didn't see a thing. Yet, our guidance was clear. There was nothing there for us. "Don't we get to have any fun?" I whined.

That night we stayed at The Grand Hotel in Troyes across the street from the rail station. They had only one room left which was their grand apartment suite. Because we were so tired we took it despite the expense. It was not a grand experience for me, but my basic needs were met and the apartment allowed Becky and I to have separate personal spaces, a rarity these days. We discovered a restaurant downstairs whereby I was served a tasty meal of thinly sliced beef steak and green beans which I learned is a regional favorite. It became an instant favorite of mine. I then indulged in that huge tub (see the picture) and soaked away some of my discomforts. Then it was off to bed.
The Grand HotelThe Grand HotelThe Grand Hotel

Our Room: The Grand Apartment Suite_Old and Not so Grand
We head out again tomorrow.

Troyes to Culmont Chalindres, to Dijon...

We take the rail and change at a small station, Culmont Chalindres, and then on to Dijon. I feel beat up though the travel was short. We are looking for a B & B - bed and breakfast lodging and, misunderstood, end up at the B & B Hotel. We sensed to take it. Anyway, I was too tired to go further.

I remind myself that I live for the adventure of discovery. I am delighted with life's non linear and intuitive way. As a person who seeks this kind of journey, then I expect that things will be shaped accordingly. Also, I have experienced life in such a way that I realize that knowing how to know something is more advantageous than just knowing something, which, is usually limited to what we want to know not what we need to know. So I've focused my intention on how to know and understand my current situation. All the same, I've received no understanding as of yet. My fear that perhaps I won't, or can't, eats at me. I know to trust, but the stakes seem so
The Grand HotelThe Grand HotelThe Grand Hotel

Apartment Suite_The Dining Room
high. In a moment of extreme angst at my inability to resolve this dilemna I just stopped. Quit really. Well, rebelled actually - but I was nice about it. Ok, not so much. Actually, not at all...

*Troyes, France: The old town is still full of half timbered homes, the river Seine passes through and continues to flow towards Paris. The local cuisine is famous for the "andouillette" sausage and also Champagne.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

The Grand HotelThe Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel

Master Suite Bath_Big Tub, Hot Bath, Happy Lettie
Harnes Memorial MonumentHarnes Memorial Monument
Harnes Memorial Monument

Troyes, France_"Memoirs les Enfants" In memory to the Sons of War: Commemorates Citizen Soldiers Killed During the War from 1870-71
Gare De TroyesGare De Troyes
Gare De Troyes

Another Rail Station_Troyes, France
Rail FranceRail France
Rail France

Countryside_Culmont Chalindres to Dijon by Rail
French Tree in a French FieldFrench Tree in a French Field
French Tree in a French Field

View by Rail_Culmont Chalindres to Dijon,France
More Rail FranceMore Rail France
More Rail France

Beautiful Overcast Day_Culmont Chalindres to Dijon, France
Still Rail FranceStill Rail France
Still Rail France

Beautiful Homes Along the Way_Culmont Chalindress to Dijon, France
Arrive Dijon, France Arrive Dijon, France
Arrive Dijon, France

B&B Hotel - Bunk Beds, Who Gets The Top?


5th February 2009

Does this trip have a destination?
Becky, Good to know where you are. You have seen some country, but why so long in France? I could not wait any longer.I went to Ted's last week. I ordered one for you and left it on the table...not! Hope to see you again someday. take care. FM.

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0244s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb