Day 4 Reims – Wandering The Town


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Champagne-Ardenne » Reims
December 5th 2013
Published: June 26th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


When I left the station at Reims, I turned left and walked through a lovely park and headed towards La Porte de Mars, an old Roman ruin.

Mars Gate is the only remaining monumental gate built in the first part of the 3rd century and giving access to the Roman city of Durocortorum.

I then headed along the pedestrian street Place Drouet d’ergon which was where their christmas markets were being held. I kept going until I came to Rue de Vesle.

I then made my way to the Cathedrale Notre-Dame de Reims. It is truly worth the visit.

Excavations have shown that the present building occupies roughly the same site as the original cathedral, founded c.400 under the episcopacy of St Nicaise. That church was rebuilt during the Carolingian period and further extended in the 12th century. On 19 May 1051, King Henry I of France and Anne of Kiev were married in the cathedral. Whilst conducting the Council of Reims in 1131, Pope Innocent II anointed and crowned the future Louis VII in the cathedral.

After leaving the cathedral, I made my way back to the station, stopping in at the park out the front of the station.

I headed into the station to catch my train to Épernay.


Additional photos below
Photos: 48, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.184s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb