New Things


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Centre » Tours
February 8th 2010
Published: February 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today I experienced two new things on my walk home from class:

1. I was walking along the Boulevard when probably a high school aged kid rung the door bell of a house right in front of me, then darted across the street and hid in the bushes.

2. About five minutes later, I was passed on the sidewalk by someone riding a unicycle.


My family left me an orphan on Saturday, so I've been holding down the du Chazaud household toute seule, like a champ. It's actually not that bad--it's kind of like living alone in France, which is pretty cool. It is a pretty big house though, and sometimes I hear noises like someone's walking around in the room next to me, which the first time I was kind of surprised, and then I realized that there was in fact someone walking in the room next to me--the neighbors. (Because here neighbors aren't in the house ten feet away--they're in the house connected to yours with only a wall in between.)

Saturday night in celebration of having a house to ourselves, Allison, Annie, Denise, Maika, and Sarah came over in their pajamas so we could have a little pajama party--something we can't do on a regular basis. It was fun!

Sunday I laid around the house and did pretty much nothing--I went to Allison's for a while and we pretended like we were going to do some work on our paper on the marche aux fleurs, but we ended up just buying plane tickets for april break (the exchange rate is getting better, you know...) We then played Monopoly, Tours edition with her host parents and 11 year old host brother. I was kind of thrown off by how...French? her dad was--It's hard to describe he was just very blunt, and joking a lot, but kind of hard to tell that he was joking. And he would correct our French pretty regularly. Also, he was the banker and he kept trying to cheat you out of money. I kept an eye out for that though, and even caught him when he gave me 10 euro less than he should have and hadn't realized it! I was also confused a lot during the game, because basically someone would roll and then the boy would move the piece. Which caused me to always think that it was his turn. And made it slightly more boring. He also read all the chance/community chest cards. I kind of felt like we were all just there to roll the dice.

After the game I came home and made myself some salmon lasagna that my family had left for me in the freezer. (I had told them my favorite food was salmon a while ago, so all the frozen dinners they left for me have salmon in them--they're so nice!)

Tonight Annie invited me to her house for dinner so I didn't have to eat a frozen salmon dinner again (although there are worse things in life) and her host mom and siblings were all really nice. It was cool to see how a different family does dinner and such! (Although overall, pretty similar, but more of a presence of cheese and not appetizer of soup.)

Four days until Amsterdam!

Advertisement



9th February 2010

you would have a pj party.
haha you're cute. and i love the numbered experiences at the top. :) also though i was wondering what you ever did about keeping creepers from reading this because if they can then they might not need to know that your family is gone? is that a weird thing to say? hahahah just want you to come back to me someday!!!!!!! ok now i feel weird. goodbye.
10th February 2010

still like salmon?
Caught up on blogs tonight--especially liked the one about the family athough your biking adventure sounded interesting too. Keep up this good blogs! Much love, Grandpa and Grandma P.S. Do both parents work and what line of work do they do?
11th February 2010

Salmon, salmon, salmon!
How nice of Mme. du Chazaud to leave all the frozen dinners! Your real Mom probably would not have been so prepared! Tours sounds like a crazy place--doorbell ringing and hiding in the bushes and unicycles!?! Watch out!
17th February 2010

Its super cute that your family makes frozen salmon things for you when they're gone!

Tot: 0.238s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb