Part 10: Saving my skin and arriving in Bonnetable


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Centre » Nogent-le-Rotrou
December 2nd 2009
Published: December 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Bonnetable

I stayed with friends in Bonnetable, and then visited the village of Ige

Continued:
...I peeled back to the right, just in time to miss a speeding black Renault. I looked around, and everything was still except for water pouring from above. No other cars from either direction. That was enough for me.
It wasn't safe to continue.
Why did I have to be here in DECEMBER? Obviously it's my own stupid fault for undertaking this at all, let alone doing it in winter.
So when the rain was so bad that I couldn't see, and my hands were so frozen I could hardly hold the phone, I called my hosts for the night and told them to expect me the next day.
Nogent is a nothing town, in the middle of absolutely NOWHERE. But still, it surprised me.
I barged into a bar/hotel in a forgotten corner of town, and they immediately looked at me like "what the hell do you want?" I smiled and pressed on, noting the hotel sign. They then invited me to a room for €36, or a room plus dinner and breakfast for €50. I went with the meal-deal, and I must say this turned out to be one of the best decisions I've ever made. Those of you know know me well are probably nodding your head.
Honestly though, best meal I've ever had in my life. Three courses, fantastic torte, cheese, espresso, and a litre of incredible wine. Absolutely amazing. I wrote a postcard to my mother, and told her she didn't need to worry about me, I have good sense enough to know when not to push my luck.
The next morning, after a short ride in absolutely perfect morning weather, I arrived in Bonnetable under sunny, blue skies.
I zipped through the narrow streets of yet another small French town, making my way toward my host's farm estate called "Le Charme."
Then suddenly, ahead I saw a deviation sign - oh no, I’m headed in the wrong direction! The street is closed off ahead for the weekly market and I’m trapped!

To be continued…
(Will Brennan find a way out of the blocked off street? Will he be forced to wait for hours for the the passage to open up again? Or is this merely a deviation tactic, leading Brennan straight into The Joker's hands?!? Is that woman with the baby actually a woman, or is it The Riddler in disguise? What are those question marks on her stockings, and what will become of the public option?? To find out, DON'T MISS THE NEXT INSTALLMENT OF: THE DOLEMITESPRINT TRAVEL BLOG!)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb