New Life!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Centre » Bourges
October 1st 2006
Published: November 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Rue MoyenneRue MoyenneRue Moyenne

The begining of rue Moyenne, the main street in Bourges
Following a decidedly roundabout route, I moved here from Canada last week to spend the following 7 months in France, learning french, travelling and taking a year off school. The emphasis will definitely be travelling and not going to school.
Don't get me wrong, I'm not going to be one of the tramps that so heavily populates this area, I have a job. I am working in the french high school (called a lycee) as a language assistant. That basically just means that I am teaching the kids how to speak English and get comfortable speaking it, whereas their teachers are the ones who beat them into learning grammatics and who knows what all.
So a little about Bourges, then. Its a population 76000 city, built on a hill and roman ruins. The crowning glory is its Cathedral, famos for being very tall and very assymetric. I'm told also that Monet did an intensive study of it for a number of years.
The only other claim to fame this place has is that it is in the middle. Seriously, thats how they market it. Its really pretty though, so I'm gonna complain.
Wikipedia says more (barely) and it says it better
BourgesBourgesBourges

A view of this quintessential central french city
than I ever will so I recommend you check that out.
What more can be said? Not much. I haven't been here long.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

BourgesBourges
Bourges

Another view. I took these from the top of the Cathedral.
St EtienneSt Etienne
St Etienne

The rear end of Bourges own diamond in the rough. Cathedral St Etienne.


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb