Breizh


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Brittany
March 31st 2009
Published: March 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Without planning anything I just jumped on a train for Rennes to see one of my friends.
It was the first time I was in Rennes. Last year I had already been in Brest (I'll try to add some pics of there also).

I tought Rennes would had lost everything from the "britanny style", but I got wrong. Very beautiful city mixing culture and modern.
I didn't believe that before but Rennes has a subway! and sincerely, I was surprised it worked so good and was well entertained. In fact all the city was well entertained.
I enjoyed so much walking by the streets of the old town. The houses had the same shape as years before and I loved that.
The weather is very strange in Brittany: 5 minutes of rain, 5 minutes of sun, five more minutes of rain, 5 more minutes of sun, and there it goes all day long.
I hate this rain, but I really think it's good for earth, and that's why Brittany has this shiny green .

It's very easy to reach Saint Malo from Rennes. It takes 1 hour by train more or less and the price is kind of cheap. So I just thought I could also make a short visit there.
Saint Malo is a very beautiful city from the XV century (it was partly rebuild like the old one after the Second World War). This city was a true fortress. Founded by Mac Lòw, it became some kind of independent Corsair port also protected by the king of France.
It was quite sad so see that it became too much touristic. Everywhere shops selling pirate t-shirts...

Last year I went to brest. It is situated at the very end of the Finistère region. A shame that it was destroyed during the Second World War and never rebuilt the same way again...




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.062s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb