Class on Friday


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Brittany » Rennes
September 21st 2007
Published: September 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

I had my first cinema class today and the professor is excellent. He's very laid back (he should be as he has 2 hours to just analyze short segments of films) and likes to make jokes. There are only a handful of students in class from countries like Colombia, Japan, China, USA, and Mexico. I actually made the acquaintance of a Chinese student whose English name was Robin. He's been in France for about a year now. After class, I went for my rendez-vous with Monsieur Ringer to discuss what classes I was taking etc. I also made the big decision that I had been hesitating over to teach english to french kids. I'm proud of my choice but I know it will take dedication and organization on my part, which I'm not exactly good at.

After that, it was around 4:30pm so I had some time to kill. Dinner isn't until 8/8:30 here so I'm trying to find things to do before coming home and being hungry until dinner. I went to a SuperMarche and bought a better brand of shampoo that the one i'm currently using which gives my hair a strange texture, and also some Prince chocolate filled biscuits to keep me satisfied until dinner.

Last night was a nice one, except that I'm not used to wearing high heeled boots so my feet were hurting by the end of the night. I walked around with Amy killing time until a "concert" that was taking place at Pym's, a club. However, we needed an orange ticket which they apparently had handed out at an earlier forum that we did not attend - so it meant more walking around. We were then off to the "Rue de la soif" - "street of the thirsty"...or "rue st. michel" by its real name. There we saw many more CIEE students and a million other students who were swarming the streets. Thursday is THE night to go out in Rennes. I had my first strawberry flavored "Diabolo", which was described as flavored lemonade in my guidebook but simply tasted like Strawberry soda. Too sweet. OH! And earlier in the evening I ate a DONER KEBAB...which was simply delicious and really brought back memories of Berlin and the best doner kebabs ever.

Tomorrow it's off to normandy, which I shall write about when I come back. Pictures to be added when I can figure it out!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb