Getting caught up again


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Auvergne
September 26th 2018
Published: September 26th 2018
Edit Blog Post

I am really behind for a number of reasons. First I was dealing with 4 30+K hikes back to beck and I was tired. I did take a van one of the days. Second ... and more importantly ... the internet connections have been miserable. Third my computer screen is cracked ... don't know how but I can not touch the screen without losing the keyboard and the battery is low and won't charge fast. Excuses ... excuses but here's the lowdown on what's been happening.

We arrived in Nogaro and they were having car races and fast and fancy cars all over the place. I'll post a picture of that Tiff is asking Santa to send her for Christmas. Even with all this action on a Saturday night the town was as dead as Sun River at 9PM. We found a really good restaurant for our usual boring Canard (duck) dinner. We have found places in other towns that were a bit livelier like the restaurant that had a group of Basque boys singing wonderful harmony ... in the US we have Boyz to men and here they have Basque to Men.

In Arzacq-Arraziguet our inn is known as the best restaurant in town and they proved that and went way beyond. You have probably noticed the theme of great food in all these postings and the food will never stop. When I get the camera tomorrow (it's with my pack that they won't let me bring into the house ... strange French rules) I'm going to post some of the great meal pictures. Some of our innkeepers are amazing chefs and we have never been disappointed in what they served us even at 30 euros per person.

A fellow pilgrim told us that France is having a feral pig epidemic. We saw lots of hunters with their packs of dogs. He said that enjoy killing pigs and peasants (you'll see by the picture tomorrow that he didn't pronounce pheasants correctly.

When we walk thru fields of dead corn and sun flowers our tour manager calls it an "agriculture-themed day and we have had lots of those. Tiff's question of the day was "Of they made a movie of your life what would be on the sound-track.

Ruth: "I did it my way"

Pat: "I can't get no satisfaction"

Rich: "Poisoning pigeons in the park (Tom Leher classic)

Tomorrow is only 12.5K ... seems insignificant after all the 30K days that Tiff has done. Tifff's fitbit has recorded over 325,000 steps in the last 28 days. With 5 to go she'll be close to 400K at the end. Poor little tootsies!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb