Autumn Arrives


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Auvergne » Vichy
October 17th 2006
Published: October 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Autumn swept unnoticed into Vichy, silently creeping when I was busy preparing my trips and madly finishing my homework. "Do the leaves change colour here?" I asked Ludo on day. "What do you mean?" "I mean, well, in Canada, the leaves turn colour in autumn. First their tips turn, a yellow and brown. Then the veins turn bright yellow, and one day, you look up and your are surrounded by a sea of red and gold"

"Oh. Well, they change colour, but I don't think it’s like that".

I noticed fall today, not in colour but in smell- the musty, warm smell of fallen, crepe paper leaves. It was still warm as I walked through La Place Poste on my way from the cafe, walking through the fallen leaves, that the smell struck me. I gasped, "I have forgotten the seasons!"

Yes, in Canada, Thanksgiving passed, and I knew. I ate a turkey sandwich in honour of the holiday. I heard that the weather was cold, frigid to my parents. It had even snowed in a state south of the border. It had snowed inches and inches of snow and had halted time. But for some reason, it didn't seem real. Autumn hadn't hit me. But now it had come to Vichy, quietly, as if not to intrude on my time. It was not bold, or in my face, it was soft and intimate. It made me want to call Joanna and ask, "Did you know?"

But Vichy wouldn't have wanted that. No, Vichy likes to be discovered by everyone on their own time. I'm sure Joanna must have noticed it, or if not, she will soon. I'm sure Ludo instinctively knew it was fall and that winter was on its way.

I have been listening to some great music recently. I am afraid to share in case my parents should be impatient and download before my CD arrives. (Please don't! I have set those CDs up well!). But I must share anyways.

Sloan- If It Feels Good, Do it
Bootsauce- Everyone's a Winner
Outkast- Idlewild
Sam Roberts- My Love is Freeing
Sean Paul- Temperature

Not very indie, but in my book, very good.


Advertisement



18th October 2006

Whoa..Sean Pau
Whoa..cosmic. Oddly enough I have been driving Travis and Spencer mad listening to Temperature. And yes, I admit, I'm a freak for SexyBack. What can I say. The fall this year has been breathtaking, here on the shores of GeorgianBay. I have been taking pictures and will try to send one before we turn into winter wonderland. You make me want to up and run off to Barcelona. Love from us all Corinne

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb