Pau


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine
August 24th 2006
Published: August 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, I wanted to write a bit about Pau (the city I stayed in on my visit to the Pyrenees). I wanted to explain how it's downtown exists on many levels (literally), how the views of the mountains make you feel humble, and how its mix of the historic and the modern give a sense of city in a constant state of becoming. I wanted to tell about the street musicians playing "El Condor Pasa" (which I only knew from my love of Paul Simon music), the 1-hour photo incident (another quintessential French situation), and the search for the lost pastry.

But, I'm running out of vacation time, so I will once again let the pics do the talking.

Enjoy!!!

P.S. For my photographer friends, the whole day was shot with a fixed length lens equivalent to approx 80mm. Required more thought for the shots, and more personal movement, but I think I'll be doing it more often, as I liked the outcome.


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

PauPau
Pau

The hotel I stayed at.
PauPau
Pau

I reader asked for a picture of a sportscar, so...
PauPau
Pau

Must rain a lot here - this was strictly an umbrella store.


Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb