renovation and rugby . . .


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Sauveterre-de-Béarn
January 16th 2008
Published: January 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

What can we say - again we have left it way tooooo long.
SORRY.

Right what has been going on since our last blog. Well The roof is now off the back section and the new one is ready to go on. We are having all the walls strengthened and crepied before doing so . this is likely to happen whilst we are away in the UK for my cousins wedding. We hope so anyway! the weather has caused progress to be a little slow. We are having glorious sunny days followed by a day of stormy rain, this makes it very difficult for any constant work. I have got some pic's of how things are going for you to all see and will load them up when I get back later this evening from training.

After about 7 weeks without a rugby practice session, I finally returned to training after my broken ribs had healed - it was very hard and it felt like I had started all over again. I also got my first start for the reserves last Sunday. I was very nervous and didn't play very well, but that was to be expected for my first competitive game in about 12 years! I missed a few tackles (probably as I was still being a little cautious about my ribs). I was also playing in an unfamiliar position, they tucked my in as number 3 (Prop), I hope that is no reflection on my girth! Anyway managed 60-65 minutes, stole a couple of balls in rucks and mauls and at the end off it, left the pitch happy and tired.

There is a great little blog site where you can catch up on the teams progress - ussauveterre.skyrock.com - written by one of the local guys it is very good.

Going now to another practice session and hoping nothing bad happens before we fly out tomorrow!!

Happiness to you all, have to run and will post another shortly.


love Ben & Helen



Advertisement



21st January 2008

Rugby French
Good to hear that there's life at your end! Are there specific french rugby terms or is it like le golf, where it's just English/American word imports? Are you going to have special coaching to keep up with the sledging? love Lucy xxx

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb