First Travels!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Bordeaux
January 21st 2008
Published: January 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

It rained all last week, so when it was sunny this weekend, we took advantage of it! On Saturday, I wandered around Bordeaux on my own, just enjoying the weather and trying to see more of the city. I saw a guy peeing on a building and yelling obsenities in French, which was quite creepy! Saturday night, we went to the Brazilian's apartment and hung out for the night. I was able to meet a few new people, which is always fun! I met another guy from Canada who wants to watch the Super Bowl, so we're hopefully going to have a good-sized group in the bar on February 3rd!

On Sunday we took a trip to Arcachon, a town on the Atlantic Ocean. It was absolutely gorgeous! I took off my sandals, rolled up my pants, and walked in the ocean! The largest sand dune in Europe is near Arcachon, but since it was Sunday, the buses weren't running and a lot of the shops were closed. However, we were able to see the dune from where we were walking on the beach. The train was really cheap to take there and we were only on the train for an hour, so it made a very nice day trip! Being the typical American sports fan, I couldn't miss the Patriots game, so at 9:00 I went to Cafe des Sports to watch the game. There was a big soccer match on that night, but the bartender changed one of the TVs so we could watch. Alex and I split a pizza (which was really cheap!). The pizza had an egg in the center of the pizza, but it was delicious! We only stayed for 3 quarters of the game, but it was good enough! We're planning on going to Cafe des Sports again for the Super Bowl - they're going to stay open past regular hours just to show the entire game - it'll be starting at midnight here!!

Hopefully ya'll weren't freezing too bad back in the states while I was at the ocean 😊

Classes start tomorrow and I can't wait!

Advertisement



29th January 2008

FUN!!!
Sounds like you are having fun!! GMa Liebl

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 40; dbt: 0.023s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb