One Night in Bordeaux


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Bordeaux
September 12th 2007
Published: September 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Before the fun begins, please be aware that my blog postings may start being rather sporadic, as my notebook is attempting to visit PC Satan in computer Hell - it keeps crashing. If anyone wants to pray to an electronics Jesus for me, I’d be appreciative.

Getting out of Paris was quite an adventure. We slept in a bit, as we stayed up late last night. Well, I did anyway. When we finally got all of our stuff down those 3,000 steps, we decided to catch a taxi as opposed to using the Metro. We got to Gare du Nord, and I stood in line for about an hour only to find out that we needed to be at a completely different station. I’m so glad that we gave a taxi driver $15 to take us on a scenic route to the wrong place. All of the Metro ticket kiosks were out of order, so we had to stand in yet another line to get Metro tickets (thereby defeating one of the goals in using a taxi earlier). We got the tickets, and I tried to get through the Metro gate only to have my ass kicked by the gate. Bags flew everywhere as I tried to dislodge myself from the hungry jaws of death. I used a few choice words, picked up my belongings, and moved along. We got to the correct station, and had a two hour wait.

We made it to Bordeaux, and I have good news and bad news. The good news is that we’re only on the 4th floor this time. The bad news is that we’re still on the top floor, the French don’t count the ground floor, so we’re really on the 5th floor, there are 76 steps, and there is again no elevator.

Because we got to Bordeaux so late in the day - around 6:00 - we didn't have time to do anything but walk along the Garonne River for a while. The rugby fans were out in full force watching the Italy - Romania match and waiting for the France - Scotland match. The games were being played on an open-air large screen display. We had dinner at an Irish pub, and Erin felt that her fish and chips was the best meal she's had since we've been here. We're getting up early tomorrow morning to head to Spain.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Quote from Victor HugoQuote from Victor Hugo
Quote from Victor Hugo

Use Google translation!


13th September 2007

keep em coming
Good luck w/ the computer...remember to email isupport to have them log in and fix it for you. You'll love spain...it's one of my favorite countries of all time...just trust me on this one.
14th September 2007

Hey
I'm glad to hear (or rather read) that you're having a good time. Sorry to hear about Ben. You'll never guess which room Becky and I stayed in on Sunday night. The white room of course. I almost burst out laughing when he told us then I remembered that I wasn't suppossed to know anything about the rooms. We're back in London now but, I am su jelous of you and Erin for being able to travel around Europe like this. Say hi to her for me.
15th September 2007

Glad to hear
Glad to hear your having a great time...You'll be glad that you did this later in life. Be safe and you guys enjoy yourself...Your Uncle John...

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb