Working Holiday in France


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Biarritz
August 25th 2016
Published: August 25th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Chile-France


I finished my job in Chile, dramatically (that's a story for a different post) so I decided to travel, and where better than to the country of love, wine and cheese: France!

I just had learned that as Chileans, we have a Working Holiday agreement, that let us work in France for a whole year. So I decided to leave Chile and just bought my ticket to Barcelona (way cheaper than to Paris).

Now that I've been around two months in France (or in the Basque Country really), what have I learnt, how has it been so far? Here's a summary:

1. I've been sharing an apartment with 5 argentinians, much crazier and well travelled than myself. It's been fun, crowded and it has taken to build a lot of tolerance. I've loved it so far. Depending on the season it will be really easy, or very hard to find a place to live, and the cost will vary the same, but don't stress, you'll a find a place where to live. If not,, try Couchsurfing which for me has been an amazing experience so far.

2. France is all about paperwork. I haven't even been able to open a Bank Account. They don't make things very easy for a starter. So when you start working, if you don't get a permanent contract, or at least one for a few months, try to convince your boss to pay you in cash (I know, ridiculous but I had to do it, and it worked!)

3. Surprisingly, you can learn French on the way. Don't worry if you can't speak the "language of love". My argentinian friends have gotten along really well with a badly pronounced "bonjour" and "une biere, s'il vous plait".

4. Working in a restaurant is a great way to save money on food (although make sure you don't only eat baguettes or you'll regret it), and make money at the same time (even if is very little money).

5. French people are actually really nice. I have to say before I came here, everyone was warning me about the French, "they won't talk to you, they are racist, they are snobby, they are this, they are that". I have actually found out that they are really nice people. Of you will find idiots here, as you will find them in Chile and in China. Let's not generalize.

6. Been vegan here is pretty much impossible (and almost unheard of!), and there are not many options, even for vegetarians. It has been tough, as they have the most beautiful cheese in the world, but I'll get back on the track I promise!

7. French people don't smell as bad as they say.

Well, that's what I can think about now. As I am continuously learning stuff, I'll be posting soon with more tips and news!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb