A Busy weekend


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace
March 25th 2012
Published: March 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

With a big effort on Saturday morning I heaved myself out of bed at 8:30 with the intention of getting to school for 10:30. There was an Open Day that morning and a few of the teachers had encouraged me to go along, although I hadn't really seen the point - I already know the school. But I also had some photocopies to do for the Sunday school.

I arrived at school just after 10:30. I wandered around a tiny bit but there didn't seem to be much to do or many people available to talk so after around half an hour I decided to leave. I was meeting Anna at 1 o'clock and as it was a nice day I figured I could wait at Parc Marseillaise. After a quick trip to Super U I propped my bike up against a bench and sat down in the pleasant sunshine.

At 1 o'clock sharp Anna turned up and we sat and caught up on all our news - it had been a while since we'd seen each other and we had a lot to share. She's leaving in four weeks and I'll miss her company.

We then headed to flat to drop off my bike and then on into town where we found a terraced cafe and ordered lemonade and quiche. Sitting there on the terrace with the warm sun shining down on us and the soft music of an accordian drifting across Guebwiller town square, I could almost have imagined myself on holiday. Anna even admitted that perhaps life here isn't so bad after all - it's taken her nearly 7 months to say that.

We ended our walk back at her flat where she showed me pictures of the family she's going to be fille au-pairing for after her placement here is over. It seems like a good job and a good arrangement and in some ways I envy her the chance to try something new. But I know I mustn't complain and I am perfectly content here.

After a tiring cycle ride back up to Rimlishof (on Thursday I made it the whole way without having to get off my bike and push - I was so proud of myself even if it did nearly kill me) I was due a rendez-vous with Rachel. She's not so great at the moment so it was good to see her and I think she needed my encouragement - or I should say God encouraging her through me.

By the evening I was exhausted but I still had the Sunday school to organise and the thought of having to get up early again the next morning did not fill me with much joy. But I did it. And as I write this, it's nearly the end of Sunday - which has been another busy and tiring day - after church we went to Macdonalds (whoop!) and then to see some friends of the family (not so whoop) - they're lovely people but all I did was sit there half-listening to the grown-up conversation whilst the children played together.

I'm greatly comforted by the fact I get a ly-in tomorrow morning before my English lesson.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0708s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb