Back in France


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace
March 11th 2012
Published: March 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The last week of the holidays turned out to be a busy but not too eventful week. After the youth weekend it felt good to be back with the Fau's and back in my lovely bedroom. I quickly got back into the swing of things and I've been surprised at how easy it has been, even after being home. I've re-adjusted so quickly to the language, the culture and the routine - France is just another part of who I am now! I was expecting at least some difficult moments, biting my breath even in anticiaption but nope. Nothing. It's been great. I feel even better to be here after going home and seeing everyone - I no longer have that nagging desire at the bottom of my heart to just go home and see what it's like, to see everyone again.

The past week has mainly consisted of getting up, helping with a bit of housework, preparing lesson plans and spending time with the kids. On Monday we all went to a huge indoor kids park where someone who Cedric works for, invited us. The children were in paradise and I must admit that I was a bit jealous that I was above the age limit - it looked so fun! Laetitia did tell me that if ever there was a problem with one of the kids I could always go in and help - I almost wished that there would be a problem, just so I could climb over the multi-covered soft play and shoot down the twirly slide. But no such luck. And besides, Cedric took care of the kids most of the time whilst I had a bit of time to talk with Laetitia, getting off a lot of things that were on my heart and which I hadn't had a chance to share with anyone.

As we had some great spring weather during the week I managed to do a bit of cycling with the kids around the grounds of Rimlishof. On one occasion I had just planned on going out with Anais and Samuel but suddenly I found myself laden with the two little ones too - not fun - I ended up regretting my decision to take them out, what with a bleeding nose and then a behind-the-bush wee emergency. It's times like that when I think I'm just not cut out for this kids stuff.

I also got a chance to see Rachel, after waiting nearly a whole week to speak to her. It was great to catch-up and be together again - we don't do it that often so I really appreciate the times that we do spend together.

By the time yesterday came, I'd finished my lesson planning and most of my blogging (result!) - the two things which had kept me pretty busy during the week. I had to look after the children in the morning whilst Cedric and Laetitia took a 'short' trip to the opticians - that left me drained and worn out so when they all got invited to go for a picnic with some friends, I opted out of going - I needed to be alone for a bit. I ended up cycling to Guebwiller - it was another beautiful day and I'd been meaning to exercise ever since I'd been back, in order to try and burn off the weight I no doubt gained whilst I was in Wales.

Last night I had youth group and it was my turn to organise the games but that's another story......

Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0716s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb