A week seems like a month


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace » Ribeauville
July 15th 2011
Published: July 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello all,
A week ago we left Denver. It seems a long time. I guess it's always that way when
you are away from your own surroundings. I think that today Gloria should put her 2
cents in, so here it comes.
Driving through France and staying in someone's home are quite different in the following
ways;
To wake up and see the hillsides covered with grapevines, hear and see the farmers
and their small tractors tending the vineyards. Is really like being there -- oh that's right
I am really here! That's what France is all about 'the grape'. Red or White I wouldn't know
which is best. Where we are staying the owners bought the lot next to their home to preserve their view and planted grapes on it, their grapes make white wine - I don't know
what kind ? maybe Riesling. I will have to ask Lowell to write a poem about the grape.
For me it's all about the tastes and smells, the interesting people, the languages; for Lowell it's all about the photos, the architecture the flowers as you see.
Yesterday, touring three quaint (to us) villages, seeing all the tourists at the street side tables (everyone eats outside this season) the smells were like you were at the local or state fair - yum yum sooo good!! We enjoyed a Ka-bop and a Magnum - for those who know what I am talking about you can imagine that was a good lunch - for others
go to Walmart and see if you can buy a Magnum. Double chocolate is my favorite.
One of the adult sons - to the home we are staying in, moved his belongings back home
"here" yesterday. Both of them have been very helpful in explaining things to us;
in and out but (mostly gone) but a 'surprise' when you think you would have the house to yourselves. He will be back on Monday but just long enough to get ready for his holiday to Cannes, Southern France. The other is now in Turkey on holiday and will be back on Tuesday. Lowell and I plan to go to friends and stay away a night or two in Germany
I thank God we are healthy and walking around is not a problem, My ankles are stronger
for the cobblestone streets.
We are able to keep in touch so well, with the computer etc - not like years ago.
l do miss the different monies like Franc, Deutch mark etc. We pay about 1.4 USD
to the Euro. Blessings Gloria, We are praying for all the needs.
REMEMBER to click on the images there are more- 11 I think!!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



15th July 2011
A

Poppies
I have a weakness for poppies so I think it is divine!
15th July 2011
Photo 3

Oh my gosh you guys - - I am SOOOO jealous!! Pictures are wonderful!!! Glad you're having a great time!!!
15th July 2011
Photo 3

weather
From Gloria's outerwear, I'm guessing it's a might bit cooler in France than it is in Cedaredge! I think maybe your week seems like a month because you pack so much into each day. Love and blessings...we miss you.
15th July 2011
Photo 2

A week
Hi Low and Glo! Good blog and pictures! I can just taste those pastries! How much would one of those be- like the chocolate one with berries on it? The bear and bubbles is so cute! One thing I noticed is the beautiful handwriting on their storefronts and signs and ads! It doesn't seem like it has been a week already as we miss you and think it seems longer! It is very hot here today, about 90 at 4p.m. Think the monsoons are over until maybe Sun. which I like! I see Gloria had a warm jacket on so is is very cool there? Glad you are going to see Germany. Might as well take advantage of the car and where you are in proximity. I had my Stonecroft luncheon at Heddles today and did the decorations with another gal. It turned out very cute and was a good speaker. Sadly the turnout wasn't as good as expected, but it is summer and people are busy. The kids have swim team in Montrose all weekend, so we will go see them tomorrow after the Deltarado parade and car show. Kendra rides in it again as princess and then rushes to Montrose to swim! Well, guess that is all for now. Take care and lots of love. Sharon and Ed
16th July 2011
A

Great!
Everything looks fantastic! Enjoy.

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0285s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb