Wandering around


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace » Riquewihr
July 12th 2011
Published: July 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone,
IF I SENT THIS BEFORE--IGNORE IT!
I see that I saved it but may have forgotten to publish it?


Yesterday we re-visited some of the villages we saw in 2007. Eguisheim, Turckheim and
Riquewihr. The second time is never as good as the first. But it was a nice day and we
didn't want to stray too far. Today we drove across into Germany's Black Forest. It was a
nice day but by afternoon it became very hot (33C) I think that may be (90+F)?
At about 1:PM we stopped at a nice Gasthof in the Simonswald for lunch.A nice schnitzel
with a gravy and Rosti (which is like a really great hash browns) Gloria also had a mixed
salad from the buffet. When we got back we went to the market to buy some cheese that I like. I have had it some years before (St Andre) but could never find it in the states. And "Voila" they had some. Shopping here is difficult as we are used to German words but very little French. We bought some cream-cheese which turned out to be a fine sour cream. We put it on a raspberry jam and it was so good. Food is quite expensive in France and the portions are small. Fuel (diesel) is about 1.40 euro per liter. I think that's about $7.60 per gallon.UGH! The worst is you exchange your dollars for euros and for $420USD you get
300 euros. Just a few years ago it was the other way around.. Well enough of my complaining.
My GPS has been a marvel. It knows every thing! I just program the places I want to go to.
Start the car, put it in gear, and when I wake up we are there. Amazing!
Enough for now. Hope all is well on the western front!
Lowell
PS: Remember to click on the images as they will enlarge. Also then scroll down as
there are a total of 5 images.
Thanks for looking!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



12th July 2011

Rosti!!!!!
The pics are great, but I WANT ROSTI!!! Glo, we gotta figure out how to make some of those when you get home. They were so very delicious in Austria. Have fun and be safe. We love you!
12th July 2011

flowers
I LOVE all the window boxes full of colorful flowers. Wish I were there with you. Love, hugs, and blessings...
12th July 2011

To the Happy Wanderers
Hi from Colorado! Your pictures are great and glad you are getting to use your gps! Very warm and humid here-such strange weather for July! Ed finally got his recliner yesterday and very happy to be able to stretch out now! Haven't heard any news from prayer chain. Have Naz. board meeting tonight and watch Julia tomorrow! Really exciting! Love to you both! Sharon and Ed too
12th July 2011

Enjoying your blog
Mom & Dad - I'm enjoying your blog. I read it everytime you post. You've missed lots of rain here in Colorado since you've been gone (at least on the front range). Really glad to hear your GPS has been working well for you. Be safe. Jeff.
13th July 2011

Your beautiful pictures
Hello, Oh you are taking be back!! I just love your beautiful pictures. Though we didn't spend a lot of time in France, it looks much prettier where you are than where we were. Sounds wonderful. Hope you are just having a wonderful time. God bless, Jenny :)
13th July 2011

Pretty...
Hi Guys! Everything is so quaint and pretty there! Nice pics Lowell! It's always interesting eating in foreign countries. And usually you're never disappointed! We look forward to more pics and stories. Let's see some pics of the food!!! Take care and have fun! Gene
18th July 2011

testing Lowell Olson BLOG
Hi, for the first time ever I have (part) of a "Submit Comment" botton on your blog. I will send you a screen shot of it so you know what I am talking about. Love the photos and you emails! Keep em comming!
18th July 2011

Ka-bop...
So that's what a Ka-bop looks like!!! I always wondered and now I know! (I jest) Looks good. Keep the food pictures and restaurants/cafes pics coming. Gene

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb