Hiking in the vineyards


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace » Kaysersberg
July 17th 2016
Published: July 17th 2016
Edit Blog Post

We came to Alsace yesterday after a few days in Paris. Our stay there coincided with the full flowering of a cold I caught in Norway, so I was rather inactive, although I did manage to see Monet's huge, magnificent paintings of the lily ponds in his gardens at Giverny, which are hung in specially-designed rooms at the Orangerie. The building was being renovated for decades and, of the many times I've visited Paris, this is the first chance I had to see them. They probably helped me banish the cold!

Today we started our hike into the Vosges. It was a comparatively easy day: about 11 km, through vineyards and then up one side of a forested hill and down the other. Tomorrow the real fun starts: the guide book says we'll be ascending 1250 m altogether!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb