Arrival in Alsace


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace » Guebwiller
September 6th 2011
Published: September 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

6/9/11

Arrived in Bale-Muhlouse airport yesterday afternoon at 15:10 (20 minutes later than expected). Cecile drove me to the airport – it was another rush to get there but we made it in plenty of time. I had a much smoother ride through security.
Cedric and Laetitia were waiting with their two youngest, Raphael (4) and Gabriel (17 months) as I trundled through with my 20 kg bag. I’m glad I had seen the photos beforehand or I think I would have been in for a bit of a shock –like I said, Cedric especially wasn’t how I imagined him. Their English is OK – perhaps just as good as my French but that’s good because it means I won’t be able to rely on my English and will be forced to use my French.
On the way back from the airport we stopped of the school to pick up the other two children, Samuel (5) and Anice (7). I was introduced to a few of the parents and teachers – Anice’s teacher, Benedict seems very nice and she told me that her daughter is actually in Wales at the moment!
The children, at least the oldest two seemed a bit in awe of me to begin with but as soon as we got back to the apartment they were chatting away to me all the time. Their apartment is about five minute’s walk away from the school which is very practical. My first impressions as we pulled into their driveway/garden were not good. The garden is all stones and overgrown plants with a few children’s toys dotted about. The building itself is rather run-down and when Laetitia told me that their house is in the roof I thought I was in for a Cinderella-type accommodation. But once we had climbed the three flight of stairs and they showed me in, it wasn’t that bad. It’s actually rather homely and much more spacious than I was expecting. It’s certainly not as posh as the few French houses I have stayed in before but it’s nice. My bedroom is just off the open lounge and kitchen area and isn’t too big but not too small either. It has a desk (with a broken lamp), an uncomfortable chair, a wardrobe, and a little bedside cabinet – it could do with a few things on the wall so I think I’ll email home and ask for some stuff from my bedroom wall. I did put up some postcards from La Gacilly but Gabriel and Raphael liked the look of them too – luckily I managed to retrieve them before they got too damaged.
The family gave me a little welcoming present which was a mug with the words I love Alsace on it – I hope I will. The children, especially Anice enjoyed showed me different things around the apartment which was nice even though I was tired. It made me feel more at home – Cedric and Laetitia have made me feel really welcome and it’s obvious that they want me to be happy here. Last night I was too tired to think properly and it was all rather overwhelming but I think it’s began to hit me today - the hugeness of what I’m doing. Being at Cecile and Alain’s I was with people I knew (even if not very well) but here is just so different and this is where it all begins I guess. I think it’s going to be hard to begin with but I’m sure once I get to know more people and I become used to living here, it will be great.
I haven’t even been in France a week but it feels like I’ve been here ages! This year is certainly going to be a real test of my strength and faith. But I know that nothing is impossible when God is on my side.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb