My Wife Gives Me Two Weeks Off For Good Behavior Every Year-Scandinavia-Summer 2011


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Uusimaa » Helsinki
June 3rd 2012
Published: June 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Life on the Road 44 secs
Sunday, August 21, 2011-Trip Notes

Why don't they they let you get wifi for free like in the states? I've been to very few places who'll allow a fee connection. I guess I'll wIt until I hit the info center.

I set my alarm for 5:00 AM, but rolled over and got up at about 5:20 AM. I needed a shower, so I spent a little extra time on that. I packed up, got out, and was off by 6:30 AM. Fumbled around trying to find Route 140, Old Helsinki Road. Found it, stopped for breakfast, and was on my way. Pretty good. I usually get very lost finding my way out of a city.

Route 140 was just too easy. All of the traffic was on highway. Add to that the fact that it was Sunday morning, a 1/2 hour would go by without seeing a car. After not riding at a kick ass pace, I realized that it was hilly. This happens sometimes. You're riding like the wind, but not getting anywhere. You down shift, and then it occurs to you've been riding uphill

At about 15 km from Stockholm I met up with this very helpful, pleasant, but very old time European man not only guided me into the city, but brought me within three blocks of Euro Hostel. This trip would have taken hours of getting lost and asking for directions. It is here that I want to make a note of his email address and website. This guy spent hours guiding me into Helsinki and Meritullinlaituri Sjotullskajen Island.

Raimon Kotiapu

I took a few pics I'd like to send to him. He's a handyman with four kids. He doesn't own a car, but has a house about eight miles from Helsinki. When he introduced himself to me he was out picking mushrooms. So far this city doesn't hold a candle to Stockholm-but what city does? Yes, I have the Stockholm blues. This is very similar to when I went to Minneapolis, Ithaca, and Boise. Not being used to nice cities, I had no idea that people wanted live in cities until then. I did come upon a Gypsy village. I saw a couple of these in France. Unlike the romantic view, these squatters are dangerous vermin who would probably be accepted as immigrants if they would only mainstream and get jobs. After fumbling around for a few blocks, I found the hostel. Where can you stay in one the world's capital cities for about $45 a night in a private room? I'll probably switch to the bunk room to save $21 a night. I'm reviewing the map, swigging a beer, and
planning out tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb