My Wife Gives Me Two Weeks Off For Good Behavior Every Year-Scandinavia-Summer 2011


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Tavastia » Forssa
August 16th 2011
Published: June 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Friday, August 19, 2011

Well, here I am after a 90 mi ride, safely ensconced in my tent! Not bad for 10 eu. I was a little depressed after leaving Stockholm. Forsaa wasn't awful, but not exactly a tourist site. The complimentary breakfast was terrible. I was served yesterday's lousy ham and cheese sandwich and a cup of coffee. I was worried that Lahti would be more of the same. It wasn't. I rode through mostly flay, but occasional hilly terrain. Leaving at 6:30, I arrived at about 4. The complimentary breakfast was terrible.

Many the roads had very good bike paths for about 10 km outside of each town. I took hwy 54 pretty much the entire way. The day began very foggy & cold. I wore a long sleeve turtleneck, a vest, and flashers. By 11:30 I stripped down to a short sleeve t-shirt and was mostly comfortable.

After stopping at a gas station, I got pretty good directions into town. One of them told me the nearest campground was @ 17 km away. I lTer stopped at Bike Planet where the clerk gave me good directions to the campground. After riding through town and shooting out the other side, it probably was about 17km away. The downtown was pretty, vibrant, and clean. The lakefront is reminiscent of the riverfront in Newburgh. Great food, and for a change, good dark beer on tap.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.068s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb