No ignorant North American here!


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Uusimaa » Helsinki
August 26th 2011
Published: August 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today I sat waiting to set up a bank account surrounded by other people. The bank teller came over to say a couple things and I felt like the least intelligent person in the room. I did not understand one word that came out of her mouth. I think I am going to start studying an hour of Finnish every night or I will just continue to look like the confused/lost tourist. The last thing I want to be like are the immigrants in Canada that refuse to adapt to our culture. You know the ones where you dial to order a pizza from, and it goes something like this:

"Hi I would like to order a large pizza."
"ya ya."
"Can I get a pepperoni pizza?"
"So you want a hawaiin pizza with pop."
"No I want a pepperoni pizza. No pop."
"Ok what size?'
"I said large."
"Ok large hawaiin pizza with 2 pop."
"No pop and I want a pepperoni pizza."

30 minutes later you do get your pepperoni pizza but you also get the 2 pops, and a hawaiin pizza you made quite clear that you did not.
I think we've all had or witnessed these calls; at least those of us who have lived in cities. Let's just hope these calls weren't long distance from a cell phone since the usual 2 minute order call usually takes about 15 mins.

I cannot! Let me rephrase that... I will not be one of those people!
I was just recently yelled at in Finnish by a man on the train, for those of you who did not catch that last fb status of mine, now you know. I know embarrassing! I had no clue what he said so I just stood there like an idiot trying to figure out why this man was so angry. Well the next time I get yelled at I want to have at least a fair shot at the argument no matter how silly it is. Otherwise I may as well bow down now and go back to Canada in shame of not properly presenting our nation. I don't know too many Canadians who would want to let the Finnish beat them in anything else. It was bad enough that they beat us in hockey recently. They all boast to me that they won the world cup and that they are the best at hockey. Man it was one time. So no more winnings for the Finns. I will learn Finnish and prove to not be the ignorant North American we are so easily stereotyped to be.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb