Canadian to Finnish food and Drink


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Uusimaa » Helsinki
August 25th 2011
Published: August 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Helsinki is similiar to Canada at first glance. Weather, road size, trees, islands, water; but look closer and what you see are strange signs, a language so opposite where a u is actuallt the sound of double Os and a y is a u and a j is a y. Confusing when you try and learn it. Grocery shopping was an experience. I went to buy salami and I bought deer salami. Everytime I try to buy regular water I end up with carbonated water. Juice is also tricky I've tried to find regular juice and so far I've drank the most odd things. Jolly rancher flavoured juice sounds good right? But honestly it tastes like you are drinking a bottle of jolly ranchers=way too sweet. Sometimes I just want Ice tea. Try finding lemon juice haha this was pretty funny. Apparently Europeans think drinking vodka water is the worst thing ever. They say it ruins alcohol. I couldn't find lemon juice anywhere. Finally my friend princess PP found me lemon juice and I found myself some Ice tea but it looks like I will have to adapt a lot more then I thought. I just want to add that PP(my italian friend) now loves lemon juice 😊 Sure Finland seems closer to what Canada is like then other European countries but from my experience France and the UK culture is way more similiar. Tomorrow is reindeer stew. I am a little scared.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb