A walk and then another walk with grilled halloumi in between


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Uusimaa » Helsinki
August 11th 2010
Published: August 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Seeing as I've massively over-compensated for my late ferry check-in by turning up 2 hours to early for my Stockholm ferry, named the Silja Serenade, I shall take the opportunity to catch up here.

Yesterday I set out on a northbound excursion through some quiet parkland. I just kept walking along the coast and stumbled upon the Sibelius Memorial, a big bundle of floating organ pipes on a rock next to a melting head. It reminded me of my Harmonium and it's lovely decorative pipes. I hope Reg is in good health and making rapid progress with his pianolas... Anyway, I continued on my way stopping briefly on a splendid rocky outcrop to be buffeted by the Finnish winds (perhaps bellowing from the great harmonium in the sky).

What a pleasant walk, I thought to myself as I kept walking. I saw red squirrels and thought of Squirrel Nutkin who had his tail plucked off by Old Brown Owl after his cheeky riddling. Beatrix Potter was not afraid to write openly about the horrors of the natural world. That story perturbed me as a child, though didn't prevent me from being a cheeky little sod, but I too had
Leaving Helsinki & Suomenlinna IslandLeaving Helsinki & Suomenlinna IslandLeaving Helsinki & Suomenlinna Island

This was the island where the picnic took place
my metaphorical bushy tail plucked asunder by those humourless teachers at school and now look at me, a fine pinnacle of society!

Ok, it was just a nice walk and that was that. Although it did take me onto an island where there was an open air museum. Luckily you only had to pay if you wanted to go into the assortment of rustic huts. For me it was enough to see them from outside and let my imagination do the rest (earthenware jugs, leaning pitchforks, a weaving loom together with spools of shabby wool. I know about these open air museums, so you can't tent me with your waxwork peasants and dank corners!)

After exploring the village I found a perfect rocky promontory by the sea where I unfurled my ukulele once again, this time to a couple of neurotic grebes who kept diving then popping up and shaking their beaks in apoplectic rage: Silence you fool! This is an area of outstanding natural beauty and you're ruining the tranquility with your popular songs!

Browbeaten I set off back towards town with the help of a bus.

I found a restaurant and in my state of great hunger paid €15 for a halloumi salad. It was very tasty but I left all the cranberries as I didn't like that particular combination, the pine nuts however were superb.

Then I went on another walk.

Ooh look at the time - I can board in 10 minutes! Whippee!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.27s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0758s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb