Walking around


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Uusimaa » Helsinki
July 27th 2005
Published: July 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

HelsinkiHelsinkiHelsinki

Copyright Antonia
Wondering why people take those bus tours when this is such a small city and the best places to be and the most beautiful sites are hidden on small streets... (Pictures of which will be posted somewhere in the future)

Also wondering if I can get a mocha to-go! Coffee is served in glasses and mugs, depending on the kind, and you sit at a table to drink it, sometimes with a pastry, most of which come in huge portions. I'm not sure if the coffee shops have paper cups to give you a coffee to take away! They make the best mochas here!
You can get food to-go in the middle of the night from the little stands that cater mainly drunk people.
The only other thing to eat as you walk is ice cream. Due to some peer preassure I tried Pear ice cream the other day, and I have to say that I had to rearrange my list of favorite ice cream flavors and place that second only to chocolate.
Speaking of chocolate... It comes in the oddest shapes (tools, dogs, fish...) and it tastes amazing. I can be a nice person and send you some, but I'll do you a favor and give you another reason to visit Finland!


Advertisement



28th July 2005

Pear ice cream
So you found out. It really is almost the bestest thing in the world.
31st August 2005

Suomi on kaikkien paras!
I am very happy to hear such positive comments about Finland. I can definitely agree with you about the chocolate...sigh. Although I have not had the opportunity to try pear ice cream yet, I've tried many other unique Finnish foods. (Including 'mammia' and black sausage) I feel a special connection everytime I make a trip there because I speak the language at home and it's so different to speak it to other people. g2g! :)

Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb