American Boys in Naantali!!! New England Colonials!


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Southwest Finland » Naantali
May 19th 2008
Published: May 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today I went into school at 11 then at 11:30 met up with ten American 14-17 year old guys! Basketball players from New England! With two volenteer coaches, and Scott, the man in charge. I introduced myself then guided them to lunch. We all ate together until the other students started arriving, then they all split up and we put one at each table! They gave some presentations in a couple of our english classes, then we headed back to the trailer where they left their bags and the adults, and the guys came with me down to the harbor! We hung out there for a while buying some snacks at Merisali, and walking around Muumiworld, getting tans...or hoping to, and just chilling in the sun. Then everyone met back at kaivohuone at 4 so the boys could meet up with their host families! I went with two of the Ryans (there were three!) to Eija's house for dinner since she was hosting them! After dinner we went back to my school and the guys had a game against a Turku team in our gym! I shang hied (how do you spell that?) a bunch of kids from school to come out and see it, and suprisingly a TON did! Henkka, Maiju, Aikka, Jori, Anssi, and Henri were with me! It was a lot of fun, and a good game! We really werent sure who was going to win, it kept switching! In the end the Colonials won! After the game Maiju, Aikka, Henri, Henkka and I went down and shot some hoops...the only one of us with ANY potential what so ever is Maiju, she was awesome at it! 😊 Aikka took us to Merisali after (he just got his driving liscense!!!) and we hung out there for a while, then I went home and SLEPT!!!

Saturday morning- woke up late, got ready, and met the guys at the gym again at 12. They had another game at 1 against Salo, which they also won, but it was a close game again! After that game Scott who was in charge honored me for being a wonderful guide and American, and gave a REALLY nice speech, then gave me a NEC t-shirt and a calender! Then they also honored their two most valuable players from the american team, then the finnish team also! After all the boys FINALLY got out of the shower we walked to Merisali for lunch!(Murphy took my bike, but my bag was on the back so I didnt have to carry it!). Muppe came with us! We ate there for a while, the boys were crazy happy because it was an all you can eat buffet! I think Chris asked more then once if I was really serious about it being all you can eat! We walked around the harbor after, down to the grocery store where almost all of them bought a carton of pourable yogurt! (they thought it was a cool as i did the first time i saw it!). After, we hung down by the sea some more, then a couple cars came and took everyone to the harbor. I came with, in the coaches car, then at the Viking Line (to stockholm) harbor we all said goodbye! It was an awesome two days!


Additional photos below
Photos: 62, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

adventuring adventuring
adventuring

muumiisland


Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb