Ascension


Advertisement
Estonia's flag
Europe » Estonia » Tallinn
July 5th 2017
Published: August 8th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Hello my fellow travellers!

I was indeed in luck today, my Tallinn Card still had a few hours of validity left so I said my goodbyes to Martin and thanked him for his kind hospitality before I jumped on a bus heading for Pirita. I started by the ruins of Pirita Klooster but unfortunately it hadn't opened yet so I continued out to the Tallinna Teletorn and went up to it's 360 degree viewing platform. Unfortunately there isn't any part without a reflecting window and in my opinion the view really suffers from this so I can't really recommend this place, especially not with it's rather hefty 13 euro fee to go up here. If they had a balcony part or something similar where you could really enjoy the view to the fullest then I would recommend it, but now it was quite similar to the viewing experience of the Tokyo Metropolitan Building with the difference that the Tokyo Metropolitan Building is free of charge. To be honest the coolest part of this place was the Soviet BTR-70 painted in a sort of flower power scheme.

After I was done with the view I took the bus back to the centre and switched to the airport bus. I must say that even in spite of the tourist money grab here in Tallinn I have really enjoyed the city. The historic centre is really wonderful to walk around in and there is no real need to enter anywhere except maybe the the sites I mentioned yesterday but the centre is more than enjoyable to just walk around in without any specific goal in mind.

The trip as a whole has been great, I've met up with some old friends and made new ones on the way. I've seen a lot of wonderful places, places I didn't even know existed before I started this trip. I've heard many moving stories, stories of loss and despair, of struggle and fighting oppression, of overcoming insurmountable obstacles and prevailing.

I definitely recommend this trip, the Baltic countries have a lot more to offer than I first expected and I honestly enjoyed myself more than I thought I would. The only thing I might have asked for more would be a bit better weather.

My next trip is just a few weeks away and then I will go to Spain and Andorra, I'm really looking forward to see what this small state in the middle of the Pyrenees have to offer.

Until then I wish you all peace and happy travels!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb