One Day in Estonia


Advertisement
Estonia's flag
Europe » Estonia » Tallinn
September 10th 2008
Published: September 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

P9090604P9090604P9090604

Couldn't find the Info Center until I spotted a Beetle parked beside
I woke up Tuesday morning in Helsinki and walked to the harbour to catch my ferry to Tallinn,Estonia. The ferries run very often, and Tallinn is often considered a suburb of Helsinki. I got checked in and found a comfy seat for the 3 hour trip. The sea was pretty rough on the crossing, but I decided that I had been on enough boats by now and passed on taking any gravol. At about hour 2 I could tell that the ups and downs were starting to get to me, so I tried something that I didn't think would work. I met a guy from Quebec in Iceland and he told me that to cure sea sickness, a person should eat. It seemed risky to me. But I went and bought the biggest sandwich I could find and ate it. To my surprise it settled me completely, and thus a small victory over the ocean.

I arrived in Tallinn to more or less a downpour of rain. I wasn't surprised of course because I have only had about 4 days of sun since my trip began. I started the walk to the tourist info so I could use internet and
P9090606P9090606P9090606

Not loving the rain....
find out where my couch surfing host lived. Once I had the directions, it was another long walk to her place. Once I got there she informed me that she had to leave for work. She is a journalist for the largest newspaper in Estonia. So she left and I hung out using the internet trying to figure out where my trip will take me next.

I woke up this morning and my host Liisi took me for a quick tour of Tallinn. The most visited part of the city is the old town, which consists of many old buildings, along with the old town walls and watch towers. I got a brief view on Estonia's history and played tourist just long enough to get some photos. Then Liisi had to start the walk towards her work and on the way I spotted a McDonalds. There we parted ways and I went in for some home cooking. A Big Mac later and I was on my way to the bus station to catch a bus to Riga, Latvia.

Now as I write I am sitting on the bus going from Tallinn to Riga. It's a pretty fancy bus,
P9100619P9100619P9100619

Russian Orthodox Church
not the kind I would have expected in eastern Europe. It still boggles my mind that I am in a moving vehicle and have a wireless internet connection. I will arrive in Riga in 3 hours and try to track down my host there for one night. I will have most of the day tomorrow to check out Riga, and then I have to catch the night ferry to Stockholm. After Stockholm, Copenhagen and from Copenhagen...well I'm working on that. I think I am going to add France to the trip now too. And then to Switzerland. And maybe Spain. We'll see....I can't go and make random guesses to far in advance...That would be reckless....


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

P9100632P9100632
P9100632

Rustic McDonalds
P9100633P9100633
P9100633

Luckily I never carry a purse and should have nothing to worry about....
P9100616P9100616
P9100616

Umm....no thanks?


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb