Cycling through the countryside


Advertisement
Estonia's flag
Europe » Estonia » Saaremaa
June 10th 2008
Published: June 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Stone cellar, village of PähklaStone cellar, village of PähklaStone cellar, village of Pähkla

When I asked a worker, finishing a modern log guesthouse next door, if this structure was old, he said, "No, not very old," and pointed to the mid-19th century date engraved above the door.
10 June:
IT'S OVERCAST with winds gusting SSW to force 9 and no let-up forecast for tomorrow. Yachts are tucked in at the docks rather than venturing out into a blustery head sea. I decide on an inland route for my bicycle tour, hoping it will be more sheltered there. I take one of the so-called EuroVelo routes -- a paved road with little traffic that suits me just fine (although, later I veer off to thread my way through farmland on a dusty gravel road). I pass farmsteads with the inevitable old stone buildings utilized as a shed, barn or even main building. The island's history dates back more than 6000 years when seal hunters first used Saaremaa as a base. That's pre-bronze age, long before the Egyptian empire!

I come across the site of Kaarma Moalinn, a prehistoric stronghold. There's not much archaeological evidence other than a circular, grass-covered berm about (I'm guessing here) 5 metres (16 feet) high and 75 metres (250 feet) across, which at one time probably sheltered a small village. A trail passes into a breach and out the other side, and there is a creek flowing next to it. I continue my way
Stone wallsStone wallsStone walls

and stick fences dot the countryside throughout Saaremaa.
across a bridge and into the adjacent forest. I have no idea where I'll end up, but that's the adventure of it -- something I certainly couldn't have done if I had rented a car as my Tallinn guesthouse host had suggested. Sure, I'm not covering as much distance -- it's a mere 42 km jaunt -- and there are attractions on the north side of Saaremaa, such as the Panga sandstone cliffs or the Kaali meteorite crater field further east which I won't reach on this afternoon trip. But I am amply compensated travelling through these calming woods, and I eat my packed lunch in peace on a roughly hewn wooden bench in front of a church built in 1407, surrounded by moss-covered stone walls... and not a tourist in sight!

Returning to the open highway on the return leg to Kuressaare I pedal the last ten kilometres into a strong head wind; it feels like an additional thirty. Now I understand the need for a 24-speed bicycle!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Peeter-Pauli Kirik at KaarmaPeeter-Pauli Kirik at Kaarma
Peeter-Pauli Kirik at Kaarma

It's massive, it's in the middle of nowhere, yet it must have served its purpose when built half a millenium ago.
Engraved chardEngraved chard
Engraved chard

in front of Kaarma church.
Thatched roof cottageThatched roof cottage
Thatched roof cottage

Perhaps the parish priest's residence next to the church at Kaarma?
Getting ready for a long winterGetting ready for a long winter
Getting ready for a long winter

This isn't an isolated scene. It seems just about everyone on the island (and probably across the country) is laying up a huge stockpile of firewood.


Tot: 0.254s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb