FAROE ISLANDS


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark
July 29th 2011
Published: July 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today’s port was Torhavn (Thor harbor), Faroe Islands. These islands are part of Denmark and are located in the Norwegian Sea. The day dawned grey and cloudy and I awoke with a scratchy throat. I had booked a tour similar to yesterday’s bird watching boat ride but it was cancelled due to unsafe water conditions. I thought about the offered substitute but decided that this was a sign to say onboard and rest and relax. Today was St. Olaf’s Day and the entire island and folks from the nearby islands came to Torhavn to celebrate this national holiday. I heard the native dress was beautiful and the music great but rather to enjoy the festive air on shore I curled up with a book and read and napped the day away. By dinnertime I was feeling much better. Met Margo and her husband in the Crow’s Nest. Herman the hotel manager, who has a wicked sense of humor, joined us and soon we were all having a wonderful time. He has been at sea for 34 years, makes is home in Belgium with his wife on a farm.

Dinner tonight was not my favorite menu. Yesterday I had to choose between a great fish, sauerbraten, and Weiner schnitzel. Tonight I settled for lamb kabob and it wasn’t real good. Still I had my cinnamon ice cream so all is well in the world.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.318s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1007s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb