The flight abroad


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark
September 4th 2010
Published: September 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi All, This is Tricia (Other entries have been from Casey)
To answer your why and how questions, I wrote this on the plane to Iceland...we're now in Copenhagen:

Nine years ago, as I enrolled Casey in first grade instead of kindergarten, I casually said that I would have him take a year off before high school to travel so he doesn't go to college at 17. Nine days later from this date 9 years ago (Sept. 11, 2001), a near fatal car accident changed my life and made the simple day-to-day tasks extremely challenging. Following that moment, I could no longer imagine this one: sitting on an airplane thousands of miles in the air with my 6', 200 lb 13 year old son next to me flying to Iceland. (And he's watching "Family Guy" as I type). We have left our life as we've known it. I'm taking him away from his dad (so sorry, Scott), his family and friends, from the house I bought so he'd go to the right school, from the town where he's grown up, from the familiar, from knowing someone everywhere we go, and from his passion: baseball. For what? Another year of childhood, an adventure, the unknown; for a chance to experience the world; for 6 or so months doing whatever we choose together and going in whatever direction to whatever places our journey may take us. No plan except to travel in a general eastward direction until the travel fund is drained. To find interesting people, to discover beauty in all kinds of places, and to expand our horizons. Is there any better gift I could give my precious son or myself for that matter? I am filled with such gratitude for the amazing people in our lives that we will dearly miss, for the many events (both good and challenging) that happened at the perfect time that led to this day, and for the opportunities that lie ahead. Life is pretty amazing. I am so grateful.
When we return, I don't know where we'll live, where I'll find a job or where Casey will go to school. For me, this has taken some serious trust. I have in my pocket (and have since before I left California) a blue glass rock with the word "trust" engraved. It fell off the counter as I was leaving Anne's house during my last visit with her and we both knew it was meant to be mine. I am trusting that this will be a wonderful experience of a lifetime for both Casey and myself. And that all will work out when we return.
___________________
Of Casey, I am so proud. When I sat him down and said, "Hey Casey, I've been thinking. I don't want you to be the last to drive, the last to turn 21, to go to college at 17. If you take a year off school, you could go to school with the kids your own age instead of always being the youngest. I could take some time off work and we could travel for most of the school year and then you could come back and start high school. You'd have to do a year of math and a year of Spanish on-line so you could test into the next level class. You'd also have to keep a blog and research the history of wherever we go. I'd need your help navigating and you'd be in charge of our transportation and we'd manage the budget together. We would make decisions together about where to go and stay and what to do." I explained that i thought it would help him both academically and athletically. He thought for a moment and said, "That sounds good, mom. Let's do it." So typical of us, I speak in many long paragraphs and he is beyond concise. He never looked back. He was amazing as we packed, sufferred through a garage sale, and moved all our worldly possessions into a 10x30 storage unit. He has no worries about what we'll do or how it will go. He's ready for whatever it brings. He really is amazing and so fun to hang out with. Of course, he thinks my IQ drops on a daily basis, but he is 13.
_________________
Last night as we were going to sleep in our hotel in North Carolina, our last night in the U.S. I said Casey, "Can you believe we're actually doing this?" He replies matter of factly, "Ya, mom. You always do what you say you're gonna do." I had to think about it for a minute and I guess he's right and pays more attention than I give him credit for sometimes. However, I'm not sure I believe I'm actually doing this!
_____________________
Casey's been saying he is going to college at UNC for about 5 years now. Perhaps a little early for a college tour, but it seemed the perfect time to visit (and nice way break up a long flight from SF to Eurpore) and as an unexpected bonus allowed me a few more days to get things done while still in the U.S. A few extra days I desperately needed! (Btw, I had no idea it would be so much work to leave the country for 6 months.)
______________
I was impressed by UNC. I wish I could go back in time and attend college there. It's a beautiful vibrant campus. And the sports facilities...wow! I wanted Casey to understand the importance of his grades, class selection (honor classes) and doing well in high school. I also wanted him to get insight into what it would be like to go to school with peers that had the same ambitions that he has. Kinda like playing baseball on his last few teams where everyone is a highly motivated, talented baseball player. The admissions person who gave our presentation helped accomplish exactly what I was hoping for-thank you. Maybe a college visit before high school is the way to go.
________________________
I stopped all spending in January. One of my (always many) new year's resolutions. For 6 months, I spent nothing on household items, home decor, shoes, make-up, or stuff. I did finally return some items (as many of my friends know, I am terrible at returning anything) to buy a few particular clothing items during 1 week as my clothes were falling off me. And I bought food and laundry detergent regularly. When I ran out of windex, Sarah generously gave me some so I wouldn't have to break my 'no spending' pack. I thought it would be liberating. And who wants to accumulate more stuff when you're leaving the country for 6 months? However, I found it obnoxious that I had so much stuff that it was so easy. I loved giving so much stuff to my friends as we "liquidated" and prepared to put our worldly possessions in storage. I look forward to a more minimalist approach to life. If any of you have every seen me pack, can you believe I actually managed to pack one, yes only one, suitcase for the next 6 months and it was even under the maximum weight limit....well not under but exactly 50 lbs....well exactly 50 lbs. once I put 2 lbs in Casey's 48 lb. suitcase. So, yes, two suitcases both weighing exactly 50 lbs. And a carry-on with only 2 netbooks, a few snacks, and of course a jacket since I'm always cold. Shocking, I know.
________________
I am so grateful for so much.
To Mike for your love, support and encouragement and so much more.
To Scott for being Casey's dad and for being supportive even though it means you have to sacrifice 6 months of not seeing your son.
To Anne for helping me get re-enthused about doing this when I became discouraged. And for all of your insight and support.
To Casey for being willing to spend 6 months with mom. And for being someone I enjoy hanging out with. And for having grown into my man child with big muscles to do so much lifting. And for carrying my suitcase more than I do.
To my adoptive sons and Casey's friends for all of your help as we moved and cleaned my house. And for always eating my food and making me laugh.
To Kristen for lovingly caring for my precious Amber who I will miss dearly. I know she is in good hands and will be very loved.
To Bryan and Donna-for this wonderful netbook I am currently typing on and for being people I admire and respect and for your support.
To my staff and kids and parents-for making BCRC a great place to work for so many years.
To Dennis for your extreme generosity, kindness, and for sharing your skills and knowledge to improve my health and well being.
To my friends (you know who you are) for your support, encouragement, and understanding.
And to all the people in my life who have brought me to where I am now.
_________________
This morning, after setting both phone alarms which failed to go off, Casey and I were able to get an extra hour of sleep for $400.00. We missed our flight to New York. I told Casey we got it out of the way so we won't miss any more flights. He's now sleeping next to me.

Advertisement



4th September 2010

Wow!
What an inspiring story and it has just began! You may want to think of writing a book when all is said and done. I am so excited for you both and know that many people are thinking of you back home. :)

Tot: 0.365s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.07s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb