Not much here....


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark
March 11th 2008
Published: March 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Tiny carTiny carTiny car

Hard to see, but it's a tiny car!
Well it is still pretty boring here. I have to admit that I assumed there would be more that Denmark has to offer. I'm sure that given the correct amount of funds, and the overwhelming push of true travelers bent on seeing as much as possible, I would find Hamlet's castle, or the hidden ruins of some ancient Viking village, but truth be told the bad weather and lack of desire to spend what little money I have keeps me from doing too much. I mean I do things. It's not like I just sit all day and stare out the window, don't think of me like that. We go to friends apartments, we do go to class (except today they were canceled for me, but I didn't know until I got there), I go to the center of town and wander, but it's not like siteseeing, or great culture enhancements.

Our typical weeks consist of classes and eating dinner on Monday and Tuesday. Wednesday we go to town for International Student night at the student house. This is when we can all get together and say hi to those who don't live close by. Thursday is another class day
Ice skatingIce skatingIce skating

We were not very good...and we blamed it on the bad skates.
and usually grocery shopping day. Friday usually has us going out, or going to some party which is usually pretty lame, no music, no bathrooms. So we stay for awhile, say hello, then go into town, or just go back home because it is more fun. Saturday and Sunday everthing is closed after 2pm so unless you get up early you are not doing anything. We just watch movies and fix fantastic meals for big groups of us. Sushi, Mexican, Pizza... you name it we have made it. And if you are fortunate to have some French or Belgians eating with you, then out comes the best stinky cheese or chocolates you have ever tasted. Tonight is lasagna. I'm really excited.

We did find the one place to go to in town that one would consider a historical landmark. It is a viking burial ground, though not many people are actually buried there. After only a few years they began burning everyone, I assume to save space. But the rocks are still there, in neat little circles, and the place is kept nice and mown by a small flock of sheep. In reality it took us about five minutes
Pool anyone?Pool anyone?Pool anyone?

We did find a pool hall
to see all the rocks, and then the rest of the hour was spent running from and chasing the sheep. It's funny that when you give food to one sheep the rest charge at you like the running of the bulls. You then freak out and run away.... until you realize that they are just sheep, stupid. Turning around they look at you with those weird square pupils and you then chase them. It was alot of fun for awhile.

Enough of that though, because tomorrow I am off to Ireland!!!!! That's right, I finally get to spend a St Patricks day, not working, but just enjoying the day. I hope to get to the Guinness factory, and James Joyce's house,but I figure with all the other people there it might be difficult. Here goes nothing. Talk to you soon.




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Viking rocksViking rocks
Viking rocks

so pretty... right?
Viking rocksViking rocks
Viking rocks

More excitement
Sheep!!Sheep!!
Sheep!!

the real fun begins
Soren and rocksSoren and rocks
Soren and rocks

He can never make a straight face.
Flying killer monkeysFlying killer monkeys
Flying killer monkeys

I was attacked, it got my hair too...
Artsy??Artsy??
Artsy??

This is my attempt at artistic work...


11th March 2008

Hamlet?
If you wanted to see Hamlet's Castle, then get thee to northeast Zealand - Elsenore Castle, to be precise. Didn't you ever read Shakespeare? Thanks for the post. Brings back some fond and not so fond memories of Denmark. I only got to Jyland once; saw an enormous pig on the way to Legoland. We miss you at St. I's. Happy Great Lent! Hi-hi.
11th March 2008

Good to hear from you
Henry, it is good to see you survived the attack of the flying monkeys (as well as the sheep!) James (age 7) was especially happy to see the flying monkey photo. Your hair in that photo looks a lot like his right now. So it's boring here too! Have fun in Ireland. I would wish you the luck 'o the Irish, but actually what with the potatoe famine and all... Anyway, remember, St. Patrick is Orthodox! Go n-éirí do thuras leat! (The language site tells me this is gaelic for "May your trip succeed with you!") God bless you! Margie and Mark
12th March 2008

Happy St Pats
Eliz made it to the G. factory. Hope you get to go also. A friend was just telling me about their sheep. I think he called them Jacob Sheep. Can have multiple horns. Big dudes that like to butt into unaware people who get in their way. Beware of innocent looking sheep. They have cousins! Enjoy your time in Ireland. Mom's people came from Scotland into Ireland before coming to the US. May not look the part but you too are part Irish! Spring is here--for awhile. Not counting on it to stay. Take care.
25th March 2008

Baaaaaaaa
Yeah, you gotta watch out for those killer sheep. Miss ya around here. Allie

Tot: 0.282s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb