Hundstrup


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Syddanmark » Odense
November 2nd 2008
Published: November 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm currently visiting an ecovillage in central Denmark near the town of Hundstrup. Unfornately for me I believe (I can't be 100% sure) that I forgot my wallet on the bus when I switched busses about 2 km away from the town. Luckily for me I'm in the countryside so I will call the bus tomorrow and someone may have turned it in. Otherwise I will likely have to wait for a visa from Canada. Not to worry though, visa transactions have been stopped and at the most I lose around 200 in cash. It doesn't bother me all that much since I can just imagine losing the wallet in a much more precarious sitaution. In the ecovillage I simply work with my hands and pay absolutely nothing. I'm basically expense-free for the next two weeks. Thank my lucky stars.

The ecovillage itself is VERY alternative. It kind of reminds me of Borat's hometown. Everything is sort of scattered and disorganised but the people here are just great. It's almost all young families with about everyone between the ages of 13 and below or 30 and above with a 19 year old Canadian kid stuck in the middle of things. I enjoy things here though and everything moves at a slightly different pace.

Denmark as a whole is a fairly progressive country. Everyone speaks English and can talk about anything from politics to farming without blinking an eye. You can see windmills wherever you go and bike trails will be found in any town over 1,500 or so. Things like gay marriage and flat pins aren't an issue in this country. They talk about increasing electric wind production and growing more organic food, building more bike trails and increasing benifits for the underprevileged.

Tomorrow I'll be helping some of the ecovillagers plant some garlic and paint a few houses, as well as call the bus company to see if someone dropped my wallet off. I'll keep my fingers crossed. If no one turns in my wallet and John McCain wins the election tomorrow I think I will have myself a nice rum and coke...

In two weeks I will be off to visit a very large ecovillage near Copenhagen. By this time I hope to have a decent amount of Danish under my belt (I'm learning a fair bit) and stay for a few months or so depending on if they like me or not. If I like it up there, I hope to stay for an even longer period.

When I first decided to leave home it was mostly because I had no idea of what I wanted to do in university. The more I travel the more I find that I would like to be a teacher. More specifically, a history teacher. I don't know if I could work in a high school but I think I would really enjoy working as a history teacher in a university. We'll see how things go but I've been thinking about it for the last little while. I like to talk, I like history and politics and I'm a geek....yeah....history teacher sounds about right....


Tell me what you think. All the best.

Skål,
Nicholas

Advertisement



Tot: 0.244s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0733s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb