Free internet, yahooooo!!!


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Syddanmark » Odense
August 10th 2006
Published: February 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Supposed to check out the Danhostel in Copenhagen today. Stop by the front desk to see if I can extend for an extra night. The hostel had fulled booked. Damn it ! So tired of dragging my backpack around to look for a new hostel, I headed to the train station. Activated my Scanrail pass and on my way to Odense, the third largest city in Denmark and is heavily promoted as the native town of the beloved HC Andersen. Arrive in Odense 2 hours later courtesy of the Danish fast (express) train. Saw the youth hostel by the train station. Got off and stop by to see if there is a bed available. Yes, it is !

The train station is where the city library located as well on the mid level. Got to use the free internet to book my flights and future hostels. You present your driver license and the librabrian would issue you a temporary password for a 30-free-minutes-use of internet. Able to book a flight from the capital of Slovenia to Brussels for a euro plus tax in September. What a steal !

Walk around the city to the old town. It is nice to walk around. Stop by a supermarket to buy food for lunch. Along the way I was so tickle to eavedropping a group of asian women talking a foreign language among themselves which I am able to understand. They wonder if I have any relatives here in Denmark or Odense and why do I travel this far without any companion. Got a little talk with them and found out the price ticket to travel to their home country from Denmark is as much as the price to that same country from the States. Interesting considered Denmark is in Europe and half way from the east coast of the US and asia. Most of the flight from NYC fly to asia via Europe (like Singapore airlines or Malaysia airlines).

For my dinner, for the first time, I purchased cooked-food from the supermarket and took it to the kitchen in the hostel and prepared for my meal. Surprised to see I was not the only one who get use of the kitchen.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.234s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 25; qc: 120; dbt: 0.1778s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb