Sankt Hans midsummer party


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Sjælland
June 23rd 2009
Published: July 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Last day of work today!!! Yeha although it was a great experience I was ready to enjoy the rest of my time in Denmark. I think I made around 1200 and had a computer paid for. Today we were gonna be going to Bennies own job in the morning. Made the lunch and off we went. A bit later then he wanted to but it was ok. We got to the warehouse in Korsor which turned out to be a handicap exercise machine manufacutre. Kind of interesting. They had Benny doing all sorts of different jobs. Today we were gonna be putting up two walls for them to test machines on. They had to meet some standard in America so they had to do a bunch experimenting. They needed two different kinds of walls wood and aluminum framing. At coffee time there was a guy who Benny knew who came up and introduced himself. He was curious about my trip. He said he has done a lot of travelling and his wife is a travel planner so if I wanted to come over for dinner they could give me some tips if I wanted to. Benny had his number he said so I should call if I was interested. Very nice offer.
When we got there and were told what to do, we had to jump in the van again and grab the materials we needed. Got to the lumber yard and bought drywall screws and lumber. Got back and started the aluminum wall. Never worked with that material so it was kinda cool. Next we did the wood frame and we were all said and done by noon.
The manager was very finnicky and was pointing a fwe things out to Benny but he just explained that it would be ok.
Next we had to get rid of the extra drywall at the recycling. After we went to the old job site. I didnt know but we were gonna finish up the day here. We had to get rid of the old timber that was all burnt. It had to be chopped up by chainsaw and Benny was the only one with that. I helped him chuck all the stuff in the trailer.
His blade got dull around 3 oclock and didnt want to do anymore to bog out his saw. So pretty soon after that we were on our way home. Svetlana had some food made up cause Heidi was picking me up at 530 and I had no idea where we were going or if there would be any food. She came by and chatted with Svetlana for awhile, and I waited for them. Got in the car which was newer than I remembered. She told me it was her moms car actually, cause hers was in the shop getting a few things fixed.Turns out we were going out to her dad Johns place. We stopped at the gas station for a few drinks. I tried to pay but wasnt allowed. Ha I bought some more of those Pear Beers!!! Heidi got some of that flower drink that Svetlana made herself with Vodka. In every country there is something unique like this that you find here and nowhere else.
Got to the house and the family were all outside on the lawn doing putting something together. Big old dog greeted me. He wanted to play with his soccer ball. SO i kicked it a few times for him.Introduced myself to Grandma and Grandpa who owned the place, the kids and uncle of Lone . Heidi and I went out to find John by the stable. He had the blow torch warming up the coals. He shook my hand and said nice to see you again. He told me its gets kind of tough living here once in awhile. Privacy issues. They had there own sides of the house. Next Heidi and I went for a drink into the house. House was very interesting. The kitchen was unfinished looked kind of like an alley but the rest of the house was all nicely redone. We went back out to put the meat on the bbq and John told me a story of being in the States when 911 happened. They were stranded for a week. Everything was chaos. He was in San Fransisco and then drove out to Colorado. He was there for a some kind of horse thing with 3 other guys.Next he showed me the stable he built. Very proud of it. He told me that the bylaw said that he could build something without having an existing building within 20ft or something. Then that guy who showed up with JOhn at Bennies drove up with his gf. They were gonna join us for dnner. She owned two of the horses at his place. I said she must be rich!! She had one hell of a belt buckle which I wish I got a picture of. We helped set up everything Heidi and I. Seemed like she was just as much of a stranger over here, as I was. Divorce is a tough thing for a kid to go through, when kids get pulled to one side or the other. I was just happy that everyone was together. Supposedly before this John and Heidi weren't getting along too well so I was pretty lucky to be involved in this reuniting. Heidi was curious about my Shox. She wanted to know how much they cost me. I told her ah i got em on sale on Boxing day, which they dont have, on sale . Cost me around 65 I think. She dropped her jaw to the ground. Ha she paid 300 for a pair in Copenhagen a couple months ago. She thought oh my god I have to get another pair from you. Can you send me some shoes please. I will give you money she says!! Her dad actually had to say this because she couldnt get the english out!!! HA what a sucker she is. Brand name type of girl hahaha, I said ah I dont really like em that much they were a good deal, thats why I got em.
Dinner was brought out in the huge amounts. We had chicken, sausages, potato salad, salad, and obviously wine!! The twins never joined us for dinner, I guess they had dinner witht the grandparents, but they came by after they were done to see what the adults were up to. Ya Im an adult for once in my life!!! I ate a ton. After last night too, eating so much. I love Denmark!! John complained to Lone about the sausage being too far burnt. I said outloud OH SUCK IT UP PRINCESS which got quite the laugh around the table. Ha John didnt know what to say all he could do was raise his glass and say Skol!!! I cut my finger open slicing something. Right on the tip and it wouldnt stop no matter how hard I pressed. I told everyone I was bleeding like a stuck pig. They all started laughing there asses off. They told me I just said I was bleeding like a stuck dick in Danish. Pic means dick and I guess I pronounced it very similarly!!!! Lone went and got me a bandaid, cause John instructed that she do so. Ha what a nice guy!! I had more than my share of food for sure. I was really surprised in Heidi who kept taking more meat. But she didnt end up eating it all and I gave her shit about it.
After dinner we went for a tour, as what seemed to be a custom arorund Denmark. We said hello to Johns pride and joy the young stallion which he rounds up cows doing COURTING . He told me that in 2001 he was second in the world at this, so he must be pretty damn good. It was pretty much his life.After that we followed the path down to see his bulls. They were all in a herd, staring very carefully at us to make sure they didnt have to make any sudden moves. John went right up to them and starting patting them and offering a taste of his coffee. I also had a coffee mug but I wasnt prepared to be sharing!!! The cows were actually not too scared when you got close up. I was patting one on the head. Ready for it to try horning me or something but that never happened. All of a sudden one of the bulls starts mounting the other. John starts laughing and saying Oh gay bulls hahaha. It was hillarious. Once it got down they started headbutting each other. Very entertaining. It got to the gross part when one of the bulls started drinking the others PISS!!!! Not kidding very disturbing as well. Ha wow I asked John what the hell hes been teaching these damn things!!! He just laughed at me.I was pretty much done my coffee by now so I offered the bull it. He seemed very interested but never took it. Heidi was just standing at the fence and laughing at us.
We stayed with the bulls for quite awhile. THey actually circled me at one point and I was kind of nervous but they were just curious about me. They all had horns though so I wasnt too comfortable!!
After that we left to check out the field where he practices his sport of COURTING. He rents the land off the neighbour who he said is very nice and might let him do it for free now. I got a nice pic of John and Heidi for the books and we were on our back to the house. On the way back we had to pass through the electric fence and John pretended to shock Heidi with it. Pretty funny cause they didnt know I just wanted a picture of the land. Got back and dessert was ready. RIght on no messing around here.
We had ice cream and strawberries which were delicous. I didnt even need anything more, but no sense in being rude now. Especially not to family,distant family. After that we cleaned up and brought everything inside. Had a couple of Jagers with John and they all decided that we go down for the celebrations. I hoped we would because it was a special event Skan Hans in Denmark. The symbolic part of it is that there aloud Bon fires once or twice a year and this was one of the times.
John, Heidi, and I jumped in the famous candy wagon which JOhn posed for later. I taught Heidi what shotty was, SHe wasnt too pleased with the lesson hahaha. She had to sit in the middle like a good girl. Had a couple beers with us, John and I. Toasted in the street cue the picture. They actually closed the street down and had mini games and everything. I was amazed by this little town. On the way in Heidi pointed out a movie theatre and a radio station. Dalmose certainly wasnt at that stature yet anyway. Walked down to the majestic spot on the lake where the festivities were. John told me when he gets older that he wants to bungy jump here by tying bungy cords to his wheel chair and just pushing him down the hill. WHat a crazy bastard eh. This is the kind of thing he looks forward to. The scence was amazing. Everyone in town was here with there dogs or kids or whatever they had. All watching the lake, where they had all the wood stacked up, ready to be torched. It didnt start too long after we got there. The kids band starting playing and all you could hear was a squeal form the PA system. That got me laughing, those poor freaking kids. I said they have probably been practicing for weeks for this too. OH well good soundmen are hard to find. Before the fire, these bunch of kids stood in front of the lake stripping down. They all had funny sailor looking hats on that im told you wear, when you graduate. Just before this I asked everyone why no one was swimming in the lake!!!. All the kids around were playing a game of throw the ball at each other.
A bunch of people started walking around the fire and woooooooosh she was up high in no time!!! Quite the site. It didnt last too long though only like an hour and a bit. Not like a good old Canadian bonfire going all night in the bush!! THey had wicked fireworkks as well. Tons and tons of them. THey said that there was a fireworks store just down the road that made them. I didnt know people outside of China did that. Maybe they just meant sold them and didnt translate it to me! John told me a story about another town that had a fireworks store and it went off in the middle of the night i think it did some major property damage to the places surrounding, and destroyed this shop!!!
The fireworks were very powerful bangs. Maybe it was just the echo from the water, but it sounded like regular warfare.Afgahnistan or something.
After the fireworks were done,the show was over and everyone scrambled away. The reason we left so fast was to get a spot at the cafe! We managed to snag a good spot outside where everyone could sit down. I went inside while John and the kids protected the seats. We all ordered and I made sure that I paid the bill. Lone was insistent on paying and asked me if I wanted to fight. I said sure why not!!! But she backed down and I paid. Then came John he comes up to me and says Do you wanna fight me. I said ok lets go and pretended to drop the gloves and we pretended with a few fake punches. Ha they were shocked, that I wanted to pay for some reason. I was the guest and they made me a lovely dinner and its not like they had too much money either so whatever. It was only like 40 bucks or something.
Chatted outside for awhile. I managed to get a picture of the bunch but they werent very intrigued by the idea. Got back in the van and headed for the house. Said our goodbyes and Heidi and I were away, back to Dalmose. We had a great chat on the way back home. She told me about the divorce and how things went sour with her dad. She was happy that things were better now. I told her a little about my dad and how bad things always seem to happen to everyone. Everyone has problems of some sort. We talked about Copenhagen, and Christiana. She said if you wanna try some hash its ok its ok. Ha not that i said anything like that. She was just trying to explain that it was looked the other way there. We also talked more about Metallica. So good chat. Its was nice to see she had grown up and was already an adult. After we made it home I wanted to ask her for a pic. But I was gonna see her on Saturday again so I just thought nah save it for later, cause it was late. Said goodbye and pretty much went to bed.



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb