New Work


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Sjælland » Roskilde
January 30th 2009
Published: January 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Now that the basement in Svanholm is almost finished Im finally starting to get some alternative types of work. I spent my Monday working behind a tractor in a field in a giant machine with a few other Svanholmers as we sorted between vegetables and rocks. It sounds bad but it was actually fairly enjoyable. We had a radio hooked up inside the machine and the two folks I was working with spoke great English and asked me almost everything you could want to know about Canada. Time went by fast.

For the past 3 days Ive been working in a room that is covered almost top to bottom in dust. Anybody who tries to light a cigarette in this place would likely have their body picked up somewhere in Sweden. The room has an ogger inside that helps take up ´fleese´- woodchips in English - up into a big silo to be brought down into the main furnace to be burned in order to heat Svanholm. The problem is that Svanholm ordered some smaller types of fleese a few weeks ago since they had problems getting the normal stuff. Unfortunately, the smaller stuff doesnt want to go up the ogger so Im forced to sit and watch this machine and make sure nothing goes wrong. The machine sounds scary and looks like a typical ogger but its very simple to operate and the imporant thing is to never put your hands or clothes anywhere near the ogger. I check myself before even going into the room if I have any strings hanging from my shirt or my gloves, just incase. One of the old timers at Svanholm lost two fingers from that machine, but that was after 35 years of working with it.

Today I might be working on building a window with one of the other workers and, since its Friday, I will once be asked to participate in a Danish Friday ritual known as drinking. We´ll probably go to Roskilde or Frederikksund and then Copenhagen on Saturday night. I always love the weekends but now that I have a new laptop I really want to watch how I spend my money.

All for now,
Nicholas

Advertisement



Tot: 0.322s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb