Denmark finally has winter!


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Sjælland » Roskilde
February 17th 2009
Published: February 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Denmark has snow!

The snow usually comes and goes every couple days or so but it finally decided to snow all day yesterday and it doesnt seem like its going away any time soon! It´s great, we have snow ball fights during coffee break and the kids build snow forts all over the farm. Everybody who has seen me in the past 2 days has always mentioned, ´You probably feel at home, eh?´ Unfortunately, there arent any skating rinks around so I havent showed the guys how to play shinny. Aw well, if I manage to make it until next winter I could crack the bank and buy some skates and teach them a thing or two. They always laugh at me for being so bad at soccer...I always reply,´Yeah well, soccers for girls.´ It drives them nuts.

A decent number of the guys from Svanholm (I always say the guys because for some unexplainable reason there are no girls who live at Svanholm who are our age...I´ve asked the guys why that is but they dont really know, plus I dont think teenage girls are really interested in living at collectives where the nearest McDonalds or shopping mall is 50km away), are currently on a skii trip to France so things here have been decently slow. It´s nice for a change, at least its nice on my wallet. For example, my shoes were getting fairly dirty over the past few weeks (my sneakers from Canada) so I decided...well...what would a Mickelsen do? Buy some expensive shoes or fix what I have? So I figured, there has to be some paint around Svanholm. I found some white paint in the building group and tossed on a nice coat. They look like new. Its not perfect, but it didnt cost me anything, and thats what counts. When you´re away from home and you´re on a budget, it always helps to think like Red Green.

It seems like a lot of weddings are going on at the moment. Two folks in Svanholm will be getting married on the weekend so there will be a huge party this Saturday. I´ll be going to the church to see the ceremony (I was invited to) and I´ll probably help making supper for the group.

Oh! One of the guys who lives at Svanholm loves to pull pranks and hes always coming up with crafty ideas. It just so happens that he is away for the week in France so some of the other boys and I have decided to turn his room into a girls room while hes gone. We´re going to put up girl posters and get pink covers for his bed and spray perfume all over. Nothing serious, it´ll just be funny when he gets home. Hes probably too lazy to clean it all up so it might be a girl room forever haha.

I sent Grandpa his letter a few days back and he should be getting it anytime soon. I hope his Birthday went well. 80 is quite the big one. Mom said he was in his usual mood which tells me he is in good health.

I also spoke with John and Ingrid this past weekend. As usual, theyre in good health and are always looking forwad to the next phone call or the next visit. They´re really great people.

Best wishes to Whitney!

Hope you guys are doing well, keep the messages coming, its always nice to read them!

Skål,
Nicholas




Advertisement



18th February 2009

svanholm
Love svanholm! Tell gramps congrats from me!

Tot: 0.329s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0758s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb