Christmas at Svanholm


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Sjælland » Roskilde
December 7th 2008
Published: December 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I haven't written in the blog for the last few weeks but the reasoning for that is fairly simple...things haven't really changed all that much. Besides the Christmas festivites here at Svanholm (Christmas trees, small parties, a large Christmas festival - similar to the farmers market back home) things are still the same. I work from 8-3 and learn Danish and hang out here. Then to Copenhagen and Roskilde on the weekends.

At the moment it isn't really a nice time to go touring around Europe so I'm having loads of fun just staying here and partying with the Svanholm gang. We spend our weekdays planning for the weekend and I practice my Danish little by little. My understanding of Danish is getting quite decent but speaking is still difficult. Writing Danish...forget it. Give me at least 4 months for that. The spoken and the written language is almost uncomparable.

Anyway, I'm really having fun here. This weekend we had a Christmas party for the building group and we had tables and tables of delicious Danish food with free beer and akuavit. The party started at 12 in the afternoon and ended at 1 in the morning...these Danes are hard to keep up with.

Next weekend I'll be heading to Copenhagen with some friends and a very pretty blonde girl to buy some nice clothes and go see a movie or something. In a couple weeks I'll ask for a nicer room at Svanholm and then I'll settle down for the next 6 months.

If the message sounds a bit disingenious it's for two reasons. One, writing in this blog is about as much fun as talking to an imaginary friend and two because I'm really tired haha...

I'll try and upload some more pictures tomorrow afternoon.

Oh! I was just thinking. This is for my family in particular. If you're going to send a package, I did mention those Captain Black cigars and a took with the Canadian flag on it but if you could also put in some kinda of necklace or even something aboriginal. I know that sounds strange but Danes go CRAZY for that kinda stuff. If they saw me with one of those beaded native bracelets it would be the equivalent to driving up in a BMW. Sorry for any spelling errors, when you stop reading things in English you tend to mix up your spelling. Learning French and a bit of German also makes things confusing. Tot in French is 'soon' but also means 'dead' in German, as 'vin' is water in French but pronounced the same way also means water in Danish...blah

Time for bed though, work begins once again tomorrow...

Skål,
Nicholai

Advertisement



12th December 2008

xmas greetings
I've really enjoyed reading your entries, reminds me of the fun filled years of my youth...... so even though you're away from home I know you'll have a GREAT CHRISTMAS. All the best!!! Ken

Tot: 0.452s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0908s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb