3rd Week in Svanholm


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Sjælland » Roskilde
November 24th 2008
Published: November 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Tout le monde,

It's the start of my third week at Svanholm and fortunately for myself things are going just great! The work is comfortable, I have some great friends at the farm, and the chances of getting that tourist visa are looking better and better.

My weekdays are fairly simple, I get up at 7:30, I start work at 8:00, I have lunch in the main kitchen (prepared for us by a small army of cooks) at 12:00 and am off by 3:00. After 3:00 I usually hang out with my friends at Svanholm and play video games or learn Danish. On the weekends we try to go to night clubs in Roskilde or Copenhagen (we went to Copenhagen this past weekend) and it's all worked out just great.

I'll be heading to Trina and Peter's house for Christmas and then returning here for New Year's since I was told there is a big party at the farm. I'm thinking of asking them before I leave to Trina's and Peter's if I could stay for 6 months and have the nice guest room in the main building. I figure that if I get one Christmas present this year it could be the nice room and a 6 month stay. If I work hard, I don't see why not.

The weather in Denmark was a bit on the depressing side for a few weeks there, basically grey and rainy. Then it decided to snow all of yesterday and today and we have about 6 inches of snow, it's great! I built a snowman yesterday and have had about 5 snowball fights already in the main yard.

Suffice to say, it was a really great choice coming here and the people are just wonderful, it just takes a bit of patience and perseverance.

On a little side note, at the ecovillage back in Fyn I had a good chat with one of the members of the ecovillage who is a high school psychology teacher and he sent me an email just yesterday telling me that I should maybe write to one of the newspapers in Canada and ask them if they'd like me to do a little blurb on my little trip. He figures there aren't many 19 year old Canadian guys who bug off from home to visit ecovillages around Svandahoovia. I might send one to the Journal and the Ottawa Citizen but I could care less. If they're interested, great. If not, I still retain the experiences.

Hope someone still reads this thing.

All the best,
Nicholai

Advertisement



Tot: 0.252s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb