Seeing Copenhagen and the Castles of Denmark


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Sjælland » Roskilde
September 19th 2008
Published: September 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Friends and Family,

I arrived in Copenhagen on Tuesday and have been all around the Zealand Area and even into Sweden. I met up with a couple people and travelled around Copenhagen city seeing lots of Palaces, a Fortress, Museums and even a Little Mermaid Statue (very famous due to the Hans Christian Anderson story). I caught a train up to see Fredriksborg Slot (castle), Kronborg Slot (also known as Shakespeare's Hamlet's castle), then the Karnan Tower and the Malmohus castle in Sweden. I didn't make it back over the 7.8 km Oresund bridge joining Sweden and Denmark until late in the day. Today I caught a train to Rosklide and Lejre and visited an archeolgical experimental centre, the famous Rosklide cathedral and the viking museum. The Rosklide cathedral contains the graves of all of the Danish Kings and Queens since the 15th century. I'm quite tired after walking dozens of miles, being chased by wild boar and catching trains by the skin of my teeth. I'll let the rest of the photos speak for themselves.

Cheers, Richard



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.262s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0687s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb