Weekend Job part two


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Sjælland » Helsingør
June 14th 2009
Published: June 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ancient Stoneage BurialAncient Stoneage BurialAncient Stoneage Burial

This is called a Dolmen over 5000 years old
Sunday morning and now I was starting to get used to the schedule, but thats not saying it was easy. The best part was that I didnt have to worry about making a lunch today! Benny pretty much gaurenteed the family would have something for us again. I dont know how he knew they were gonna be home, maybe he talked to them! He surprised this morning with something though. He got up early and put the Canadian flag up. Aww that was really nice of him. I asked him if we could do it last night but he said no because its customary to put up the flag in the morning i think at 8 though! and take it down at the same time.
We took the van to work. Back to see if the paint had finally dried because it never did sitting in the sun all day. NOPE not yet anyways. WHat kinda paint is that. Hmmm anyways the first thing we did get that one piece up. Then we started messing about with the tough one! We had to keep taking it up and down, up and down. Took our first break but the lady laid out everything today and we had it on the table because it was so nice out already.
We finished up the job around 1230 and sat down for lunch with the two of em. The girl was riding her horse in the pasture, Rough life eh. Said our goodbyes and that was it.
We called up Renee and he was home this time and said to come by, We got into the driveway and were greeted by his lively labs. Very cute dogs. One was black and one yellow just like we had. He was in the garage butchering a deer that he shot that morning. Head was on a rope as you can see and I thought it was so bizzare it deserved a pic or two. He was more than willing to let me too. He had a huge bucket of meat for a little deer. Only its head was left now! Ha quite strange seeing that for me. Hillarious but sad if you ever felt that feeling. He showed me around the place. I could tell his life involved two things. Hunting and Dogs which were involved in the first part as well. Only the 1.5 yr old yellow dog was a hunter though. The black just loved to hump. Hes also afraid of the gun shot sound. Poor guy. Had a couple beers with him in the kitchen and he told me about his 30th. Stripper and everything he said I really missed out. HA something like 60 ppl. Wow i didnt even think he knew that many.I said well you have some good eating ahead of you meaning the deer and he looked at me puzzled. He doesnt even get to keep the meat!!!!! CAN you freaking believe it. I asked him whats the point then mister. He said oh just to get the shot and kill it. Thats the satisfaction. Ok I dont get this at all. Supposedly you have to own the land to get the meat or something. That sucks my ass. He said it didnt matter to him. He only gets to hunt there once or twice a year. Odd i would never kill anything unless I got to eat that sucker. Anyways enough of that.
I told him to tell me if he hears of any partys or anything. He told me about ACDC on friday. Bastard wish I could go.He also told me he would take me for a ride on the old GSXR 750 so I hope he comes through. Said our goodbyes and we were on our way.
We went down to this lake down the road which had a public aquarium. Kinda cool there was supposed to be an eel but I think it must be a good hider or someone ate it. Eel is actually a delicacy here believe it or not. UGH no thanks. There was a cool boardwalk from the beach, and we also saw an ancient grave site called a Dolmen. Very cool it was from the stone age. Way back when hunters came to Danmark in search of Reindeer. Benny also told me a story about Danish families and how its tough to trace it back because usually there is more than one wife in there. Thats what happened in our family. We dont have the same Great Grandfather because Esters dad was different than all the other guys. Got it now. Thats why their Jensens and my moms family is Larsens. Ok were good and now im all up to date.
Got back to good ol Dalmose and it was time for happy hour again. We sat in the sun with Svetlana and up the driveway came a visitor. Some old retired carpenter Benny knew from work.He stayed around for awhile. I had plans to do the lawn. I never knew he had a ride on, but that made it WAY more fun though. Tough to get good lines when you've never really used one though. Oh well it took me a bit longer. The kids across the way were supposedly mad because it was their gig and I was stealing their ice cream cash!! It was great fun though and I felt like I did something as well.
Had our usual snack before dinner with cheese and meat and then called up Grandpa and Grandma with the new card I had bought in Korsor. They were doing quite well and were surprised to hear from me. They told me they had been up for hours but it was only 9 so I think they might of been lying!! Good ol gramps I told him about all the sights I saw, and he was impressed.Talked to Grandma for a bit too.Benny got a chance to speak with them which was good.
After that it was Herring and Aquaveit time. Wow that stuff is strong. Its like nail polish or something. O wow. the Herring were good though eased the sour taste. Quite the traditional meal. Exactly what I wanted to try. Its actually the national drink I think so there yah go.
Svetlana did all my laundry and folded it and everything. Wow how nice is she. Not even mom will do this for me!! HAHAHa lucky I guess. After dinner Benny and I sat by the tv and watched a some of the news and a soccer match between South Africa and Iraq. Also PITTSBURGH came out with a surprise victory over Detroit beating them in game 7 in Detroit. I was so happy they didnt win again. Hahaha suckers good for Malkin and Crosby. Then to the computer. Then to bed work tommorow.
Nighty night


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Doesnt get to keep any of thisDoesnt get to keep any of this
Doesnt get to keep any of this

The farmer who owns the land gets the meat!! What a joke
Herring and Aquaveit wowHerring and Aquaveit wow
Herring and Aquaveit wow

Real Danish meal


Tot: 0.39s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 75; dbt: 0.2686s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb