2 months goes so quick.


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Midtjylland » Holstebro
March 20th 2010
Published: April 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

St Patrick's Day.St Patrick's Day.St Patrick's Day.

Benn, Alex and I at the fountain in Holstebro having a beer and making a wish.
Wow So I have been here 2 months now and it has gone supper fast! A lot of things have happened since I last blogged.

I partied a bit more, went to an actual birthday party with presents and games and not just music and alcohol, had the worst day of my life got a package from home, St Patrick's day, rode my bike to skole and probably a few more things. Ohh I also had a small simple conversation in Danish. Most exciting thing ever.

Of course I partied hehe being an exchange student everyone wants you to be at their parties and its like your a novelty so people just automatically love you. I don't think I have had one weekend where I haven't had a party, which leaves my Sundays spent sleeping in and doing homework. Yes i actually do my homework after using Google translate to find out what it is.

I went to my host brother Mathias' skole the other week and did a presentation on Australia. I thought it went good after my nerves were calmed and I realized I had command of 24 Danish students and one very interested teacher. His
Birthday party.Birthday party.Birthday party.

Rikke og Lea min venner fra skole. Lotte fest. :)
English class didn't seem to like Vegemite but Hey i guess I tried to introduce it. I guess I don't like too much of the danish food so we can call it even.
Denmark has a fair amount of cakes and pastries and I think I like about 10% of these. They're too sweet for my likings, but I love the dish's we have for dinner. They also eat lots of cheese and to my surprise I like a few of those.

I got a package from home, which was nice. didn't realize it was 10kg until I picked it up and died! My dad knows me too well sending me my hair straightener and Kit Kats. I also got some summer clothes and a stack of chocolates and food of which is definitely making me put on weight, but i have a big family over here soo all us kids share it. Its kind of nice having 3 brothers and a sister. Very hectic and busy but its also lots of fun. We get along like I was born into the family.

They are helping me learn danish too and the other day I had a small
Package from home.Package from home.Package from home.

Includes: Clothes for summer, 1 bag of twisties, 13 love heart chocolates, a hand full of Chinese new year lollies, 2 packs of Tim Tams, 8 Kit Kats, 5 bags of M&M's a letter, a hair straightener, Bag of dark chocolate, Liquorice, AFL membership, jar of Vegemite and a power adaptor. What more could a girl want?
conversation in danish about eating cheese which was exciting.I swear when I say something in Danish I always say Du forstår??? and wait for the responce of Ja, du er god til dansk. It's seriously the best feeling ever. I thought this language barrier would be hell but it's actually kind of fun trying to figure out what people ar saying and it is so rewarding when you can say something so simple in their language and they understand.

I had to use my danish skills when I went shopping with one of the other exchange students Benn when I got robber of all my money and ID. Worst day ever since I have been over here but I can't change what has happened so I have learned to look at the positives of it which is that Benn and I are a lot closer and also we were able to communicate a little in Danish before we had to go back to English because we couldn't understand. I walked through Holstebro with black eye liner so I just think in general when an exchange student you lose all shame, dignity and nothing embarrasses you. You become confident and
Snow Storm.Snow Storm.Snow Storm.

We got about a meter maybe a bit more snow in about an hour, it was crazy but I had so much fun playing in it.
even though you may think your an 'out there' person you really do come more out of your shell. You also learn to not let what others think get to you because you are the one who is changing and when returning home you will have changed but everyone else will be the same

Also in March I attended one of the girls in my class Lotte, her birthday party. It was a very different environment to what I was used to at other parties but it was nice to just sit and talk to the girls in my class. Everyone in Denmark eats pizza, and lots of it so we had pizza for dinner and a few drinks and played twister. The arty was only for my class at school so it was good fun with the girls and Simon.

So I got a package from home and that made my day and couldn't have come at any better time considering I was starting to develop homesickness. I got everything I needed plus more. My hairstraightenerrrrr OMG!!! And some chocolate and clothes and a letter of which I read just about every night.

On St Patrick's day the other exchange students and I from my Wednesday Holstebronx language class which is Alex and Benn well we decided to celebrate with a beer and a nice talk by the towns fountain. It was good fun and we made wishes. That also is another reason why we love being exchange kiddies because no one knows us so we can do stuff and not care if they judge or stare because we have each other.

Well That's all I can think of but if you have any questions just leave comments bellow 😊
Loving Denmark and thanking my parents for it everyday

Vi ses.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb