Godt nytår <3


Advertisement
Denmark&#039;s flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Midtjylland » Aarhus
January 8th 2010
Published: January 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My class <3My class <3My class <3

We all went out for some coziness (Hygge)
Now that all the holidays are over, I'll give a quick update. Every day up to the 24th was all about getting ready for Christmas. From buying and wrapping presents to setting up the Christmas tree to baking cookies. 😊 On the 24th, we all slept in. At around 16.00 we went to church. We were supposed to be there for about an hour. There were So Many people there and the service consisted of singing songs and listening to the priest talk. However, our church service was cut short because a man sitting next to my host mom overheated and passed out. Luckily my host mom is a nurse, so she tended to him until the Ambulance arrived. So after our quite dramatic evening in church, we went home to dinner. We had a traditional Danish Christmas dinner consisting of flæskesteg (roast pork steak with cracklings) brunede kartofler (caramelized potatoes) and red cabbage. We also ate risengrød (before dinner) which had an almond in it. Whoever got the almond got to open up a small present before dinner. After dinner, we cleaned up and gathered in the living room where the tree was. We lit candles on the tree and
Tak for mad!!Tak for mad!!Tak for mad!!

After you eat it's considered rude if you don't say Tak For Mad or "Thanks for Food" to whoever made the food or payed for it.
then joined hands and walked around the christmas tree as we sang songs. That was pretty fun 😊 After that we opened presents. When presents were finished we had coffee and cookies and then went to bed. On Christmas Day I slept in for quite a long time, and then we all went to My host mothers parents' house for more Christmas food. The rest of my Christmas vacation just consisted of hanging out with friend and relaxing. It was very nice. For New Years I went to a New Years Party with my best friend here. At midnight they have a lot of fireworks! It was really cool. So...yeah. Everything is going wonderfully. I still love my host family, and there have been no problems thus far in Denmark. I absolutely love it here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

The Queens SpeechThe Queens Speech
The Queens Speech

Every new years eve the Queen makes a speech and EVERYONE watches.. :)
My Bonus FamilyMy Bonus Family
My Bonus Family

This is me and my best friend and her Family :) They are AMAZING.


9th January 2010

Christmas Tree Candles
Hi Carol, I'm glad to see that you had such an awesome Christmas and New Year's. See if you can buy candle clips for putting candles on your Christmas tree at home--it's the best! I've been doing it ever since I studied in Germany in 1976. God's blessings in the New Year--keep enjoying all the new experiences! Pastor Dan

Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb