Denmark


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
August 6th 2014
Published: August 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I arrived safely in Denmark went on a tour on another hop on hop off bus, as its good way to find out lots of local info. Denmark prides it’s self on having happy people who have close families and friends. Not many people own cars here because the import tax is 180%! So most people bike. Denmark is of course the home of Hans Christian Anderson, the famous children’s author. We went to the spot where there is a statue of the Little Mermaid, that is over 100 years old. As you can see in the photos it’s a very popular tourist site. Following this I spent the afternoon in the “new Harbour” I’m not sure why they call it new its 350 years old. In this area is a house where Hans Christian Anderson grew up, you can’t go in all you can see is the outside. Like Stockholm Copenhagen has many canals so I did a boat tour through them, this one was about quarter the price of the one in Stockholm. There is one spot on the tour where you have to be quick to take pictures of the Church with the famous spiral staircase on the outside. If you are not quick all you get is a photo of a tree. It’s supposed to be the most photographed tree in all of Denmark. All I got was the Church and not the tree, I couldn’t be bothered going round again to get a photo of the tree 😉 so I’ll have to make do with the Church!

The first night I was there I there was a huge thunderstorm, I’ve never seen so much lightning in the sky. I didn’t get to sleep until quite late because it was very loud. The following day I went to a kind of museum with Fairy Tales by Anderson that had some of his original hand written stories. Overall I’ve enjoyed Scandinavia, Stokcholm was my favourite place, one of the reasons was I felt they were better set up for English speaking tourists and everything was very easy to do and find, because it was well signposted the other two places not as much. For example I spent 45 mins in Copenhagen getting very lost with a map and street signs, I couldn’t work it out, the street signs didn’t correspond with the map. Eventually I decided what I thought were street signs might say things like “west End” or be landmarks. I’m sure if you speak Danish it all makes perfect sense.

I caught an overnight train from Copenhagen to Stockholm to catch my flight to Bangkok. There were not staff at the train station which was most unhelpful. I got there early enough to get two before my connection, one was meant to be at 8:52pm. It came and everyone got off no one was allowed on and even the locals didn’t understand why! So that was very confusing and a bit stressful. The overnight train was very comfortable.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb