Back from Camp


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
February 15th 2009
Published: February 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Snow!Snow!Snow!

At camp
I think this entry will be slightly less weird than the last one.

I got back from Intro Camp today... I am staying with my second host family for a week because my actual host family is in Austria skiing.

The rest of language camp was so awesome. So many great things happened and I can't even begin to cover them all so I'm not going to. I think that there are however two things worth mentioning:

1. My hair was seriously bad - I had a million split-ends - and hair cuts are so expensive here, so I got Kate to cut it for me. It worked out surprisingly well. It's shorter at the back and longer at the front, which looks cool. But she took about 10 cms off the back so.... It is quite a bit shorter than before.

2. Last night we had a party that went, officially, till 1 in the morning. Unofficially it continued on late into te night. I thought it migt be a bit lame, but it was actually so much fun! I ended up being the DJ for about 4 hours straight, and that was amazing fun. I
BusBusBus

Flic, Prue and Kate on the bus on our way to Viborg during one of our camp excursions
danced pretty much non-stop, which is kind of unusual for me.

So anyway now I am in the rectorage and can I just say that it is AMAZING! Above me at this very minute is a thatched roof. My room is very cute, with it's only little table dining table, coffee table and couch as well as my bed, and a kitchenette where I can make tea. My host mother is very very cool. I was talking to her about my freind Prue (who is from Australia too, and who I met at Intro Camp) coming down to Copenhagen next weekend and she insisted that she stay with us, rather than in a hotel for the night.

The house is also huge, they have three cats, a five year old son, and a ten year old daughter, both of whom are ridiculously cute.

The host mother was also talking about how the family are going on a summer holiday to the alps in Switzerland and the north of France for a week and they asked me if I wanted to come! I'm so excited, it's going to be amazing. It's great too cause I really wanted to
Wind TurbinesWind TurbinesWind Turbines

In Jutland - For Mai
go to Switzerland but it wasn't on our Euro u Tour route...

Speaking of Euro tour, it as been booked! My current host family actually - unbeknownst to me - booked and payed for it while I was on camp. Obviously, I (or Mum and Dad :D) will pay them back once my bank account is fully set up.

This week I start my intensive Danish course. I'm so excited because I know all of the people who are going to be in my class now, and they're pretty much all really cool people. I'm also so excited to start learning how to speak properly. I'm glad I got some of the basics on camp this past week...

Well that's all I have to report for now! I hope everyone's well.

<3


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

LakeLake
Lake

The lake where we stopped for picnic on our way back to camp from Viborg
ArhusArhus
Arhus

One of the citys we visited during Intro Camp. The second biggest city in Denmark.
Palle's Class!Palle's Class!
Palle's Class!

Caitlin and Caitlin on the last day of classes at Intro Camp (Palle is our teachers name)
Intro Camp SongIntro Camp Song
Intro Camp Song

Kate and Prue singing the Intro Camp song we wrote for the party.
Pizza BoyPizza Boy
Pizza Boy

One of the other classes singing te Pizza Boy song at our party at Intro Camp
Party!!Party!!
Party!!

Our party on the last night of camp
Brazillian DanceBrazillian Dance
Brazillian Dance

Yes, there is a story behind Jane having facial hair, but it's not one I care to tell.


16th February 2009

wooo party party party! haha 4 hours of DJ Elisa in da house. thats awesome news about switzerland, you must be excited, im so happy for you! have fun ;) <3 xxx

Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0889s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb