Scandavian Tour - Carlsberg - "Probably the best beer in the world"


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
August 29th 2008
Published: January 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

UmbrellasUmbrellasUmbrellas

Fasle Advertising!!!
My plan for this little trip is Copenhagen, train to Stockholm and then a ferry to Helsinki with a day trip to Tallinn

23 - 08 - 08My plan for this little trip is Copenhagen, train to Stockholm and then a ferry to Helsinki with a day trip to Tallinn

23 - 08 - 08

Arrived this morning to the rain, luckily my hostel was very close to the train station so not too far to walk! The first thing I needed to do whilst I was at the train station was to organize my train to Stockholm. I joined a queue and waited, when I got to the front I started to talk to lady behind the desk, she informed me that I was in the wrong queue and pointed me to another one. I trudged over to it and joined the back, I got to the front and the same happened. I eventually got sent to the right queue, I was thinking "For fuck sake" and eventually got my ticket; it cost me like 80 Euros! I walked to my hostel, arriving like a damp rat in the pouring rain; I had to wait 30 minutes
CarlsbergCarlsbergCarlsberg

Defintly The Best Beer In Town!
for the rooms to be cleaned. The cleaning lady finished and I threw my rucksack onto my bunk and chucked a few things into my little bag and I was off

I stepped outside the hostel, put my umbrella up and a gust of wind literally broke it in half! Damn!! I did up the zipper of my coat and then that broke!! What the fuck's going on? It wasn’t raining too hard so I decided to stop being a wimp and continue exploring! Then it started and my word it started! I passed a chemist with umbrellas on sale outside, what made me laugh was the tagline on it "Guaranteed to keep you dry!" I purchased so mentioned umbrella, it would be something I would need for the rest of the day!

My first stop was the Little Mermaid, in the north of the city. It was pissing down, holding an umbrella and trying to navigate and read a guide book; very difficult! Got very, very, very wet, feel like my feet have been swimming! When I got to the Mermaid to be honest I wasn’t really impressed, there were quite randomly people in their swimsuits on a raft in the water; don’t know why, don’t think I wanna know why! Probably some kind of cult! After taking my photos I was off to find the Rundetaarm; which is an observatory which was built and finished in 1642. I trekked round Copenhagen trying to find it; trying to read the map of Copenhagen in my guidebook and holding my umbrella keeping me dry (failed on all 3 fronts!) Eventually, I got back to Tivoli Gardens, a little mini theme park and gardens in the centre of Copenhagen. I decided to have a look at the gardens cause I though that the rides would be shut because of the downpour but not only were the rides running; they were absolutely packed! I mean Busch Garden in Tampa, US stop for a little rain but these are going strong; it’s mental! I went on a couple of the rides including the bumper cars; I love the bumper cars but they have to be the most dangerous ride going as I whacked me knee several times on the inside of my car!! Painful!!!

I wondered back to the hostel, looking like and feeling like a drowned rat; I got changed into dry clothes and hung my jeans up on the radiator. I asked this Italian guy who had a bed in the dorm if there were any dryers in the hostel for my jeans and then one of my most blondest moments struck; this Italian guy handed me a hair dryer and for some reason I spent 45 minutes using this hair dryer to dry my jeans, then it dawned on me that this was a very stupid thing; needless to say my jeans didn’t dry!!!!

I got chatting to another guy in the dorm, his name was Inskenty, a Russian guy who lived in Sacramento in the States, and how does that work?!?!? He suggested that we met up later on for a coffee. As I was at a little bit of a loose end I agreed and later on met up with Inskenty, Theresa from Austria and the Italian guy, Roberto. Me and Roberto had something to eat and everybody had a few beers, we chatted about travelling, accents and other rubbish as you do when you are travelling.

Later on that night, Roberto was organizing a night out, Inskenty, Thersea and me were ready to go but Roberto was busy trying to convince the other Italians and the few French kids to come out with us but they were having none of it, in the end we told Roberto we would meet up with him later on and with that I gave him my phone number, telling him to call me. With that we all made our way into the centre and we found an Irish bar after fight in this like local bar drove us out! We all indulged in plenty of the local brew, pints of Carlsberg. We got chatting and were having a good laugh when I received a text from Roberto saying that they were going to be in the Jazz House. We left to find the Jazz House with really really rubbish direction. This place was impossible to find, we did, eventually after much effort, we went in and waited for Roberto and the other to show up, we waited for like an hour and a half and nobody showed! We went back to the hostel and said goodnight to Thersea, who was off to Norway in the morning, Me and Inskenty had heard about this Ice Bar ... a bar made completely from ice, we wanted to go and find it; it turned out to be an epic adventure.

We managed to find out the address of the ice bar and got a map, we got lost in this like big residential area and struggled to find how to get back out of it, we must have walked for miles and miles but most importantly we never found it. We decided it was best to head on into the centre and just start drinking, I believe it was vodka shots with beer chasers; how shall we say I woke up in the morning with a vague memory of the night!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb