All the Way to RenoSK


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
February 3rd 2007
Published: February 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I'm staring at the asphalt wonderingI'm staring at the asphalt wonderingI'm staring at the asphalt wondering

"What's buried underneath where I am?"
Another marvelous night in Copenhagen. Went to check out the political science “Friday Bar”; each department has its own bar on Fridays, which is a novel and amusing concept to the American students, given how much universities at home try to keep us from drinking. It ended up being closed, so I called Ns, who came and met us, and we took a cab back to his friends’ place.

Got a look at how “real” Danes enjoy a Friday night. You’re standard “pre-gaming” in someone’s apartment (complete with The Killers playing in the background), and then out to the kind of bar I wouldn’t go in by myself. They were a really great bunch, and we learned a Danish drinking game involving lying and dice, a pretty standard combination. Apparently beer-pong is unheard of here. But not for long…

Went to Spain afterwards, ok a club called Barcelona, where the bouncers made fun of my Massachusetts drivers license. Massachusetts, teehee. Learned a couple phrases in Danish along the way, but all that I remember is the sound “sk”, which I ended up tagging onto everything-SK.

Spent the next few hours talking to Ns, who has since come to understand the gravity of a pinky swear, yet made several others.

We’ve developed a heated contest over whose neighborhood is better. Apparently there’s a hookah bar in Vesterbro, which I definitely want to check out. Keep the tradition alive.

Opened an account at Danske Bank yesterday, so I’m starting to become a “regular citizen”, as F put it. I was actually pretty productive yesterday, heading down to the Royal Library to do some reading. The “empirical” business is absurd, but I’m trying to bite the bullet, as it were (!). Aside from “Peripheries” (my name for a course on the EU), the other two seem fairly theoretical.

These nicknames have become all too much fun for me; like my own language. A class called “Peripheries”, the bar we checked out Wednesday before Student House is now dubbed “The Clapper”, etc.

Today I’m faced with the daunting task of doing some laundry. Given all the going out and how much everyone smokes here, my clothes have picked up a distinct odor. I also agreed to go shopping today with C. Maybe make some touristy stops along the way. Oh, I have a busy day.


Check
OBAMAOBAMAOBAMA

"I mean, you got the first mainstream African-American who is articulate and bright and clean and a nice-looking guy"--Joe Biden
out some Danish radio: http://www.dr.dk/radio/?top


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

and they thought it was impossible...and they thought it was impossible...
and they thought it was impossible...

turns out I CAN cook something
Down by the CanalDown by the Canal
Down by the Canal

"Did you say 'ass-train'? I really don't think I'd like to go on the ass-train"
I Am A Visitor HereI Am A Visitor Here
I Am A Visitor Here

I am not permanent
PERSPECTIVEPERSPECTIVE
PERSPECTIVE

We gots lots 'a it
Where I AmWhere I Am
Where I Am

you seem so out of context
Color StudyColor Study
Color Study

beautiful wild beasts
A RoomA Room
A Room

with a view
and send the autos swervingand send the autos swerving
and send the autos swerving

into the lonliest evening
Wonderful, WonderfulWonderful, Wonderful
Wonderful, Wonderful

(Royal) Copenhagen


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb