Copenhagen


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
July 1st 2005
Published: July 4th 2005
Edit Blog Post

A short stay for me in the Danish capitol. Due to limited hostel availability, I had to settle for only 2 days here, and sadly almost all of the first day was spent in transit from Amsterdam to here. I didn't do a whole lot of exciting things here, so hopefully the journal won't bore you all too much...

My room this time had only 9 beds in it, thank god, but I got the top bunk. These bunks sit 3 beds high and it means that if I roll out of bed, I am falling about 14 feet to the floor, eek! Seems like a good hostel though, and I took an immediate liking to the group of 4 people hanging out in the room, easy going and friendly people. That night we were bored and didn't know what to do, so we all took a walk around Copenhagen, past tivoli and onto one of the main streets downtown. There we got to watch this crazy French guy who was all dressed in pink and doing tricks like juggling and so on, entertaining enough. It was a nice night for a walk.



Lots to see and do and one day to do it, it was hardcore. Luckily for me, Copenhagen is not that huge, and the touristy attractions and things I want to see are rather limited, so I did manage quite well.

Sight number one for the day was Christiania, a small walled town within the city. It was started back in 1971 by a group of hippies who moved into an abandoned military barracks. They established no actual laws, but there were a few things that were considered to be prohibited, a few of those being: No hard drugs, No weapons, No Violence, and No stealing. It sounded like it would be something interesting to see, but when I got there it was probably the most disappointing thing I have seen so far on this trip. It is basically a bunch of run-down old buildings with dirty people living in them. The town is full of the ever so cool people that like to glorify drug use as well. I didnt spend too much time there.

After Christiania I went to a nearby chruch called "Vor Frelsers Kirke", which has a very cool spire trimmed in gold that you can climb, as always I did just that. Another 10 minutes of climbing small cramped stairways and I was up nice and high looking over Copenhagen, and I could even see Sweden and the bridge between the two countries in the distance.

I strolled from there up to Churchill park, named after ol' Winston himself, and over near the port area. Here I saw a nice statue of "the little mermaid" on the rocks there, a famous character that was created by Hans Christian Andersen and later made VERY famous by Walt Disney. Walking back through the park I worked my way across town to see one of the two castles of the city, Rosenborg Slot. This was created as a summer residence for the Danish Royal Family, and is situated in the middle of an incredibly beautiful park. After one of the castles, I walked over to the other, Christiansborg Castle, which houses the Danish Parliament. A quick glance and I moved on to the bustling canal area around it where a jazz group was playing, and then I walked back to the train station by the old theme park known as Tivoli.

I am going to Oslo tomorrow and still am unsure on how to get there, and the trip to the train station didn't help too much, but I will figure it all out.

My time was short in Copenhagen, but I got a big done and enjoyed a bit of a feel for the city. But since I am actually going right up into Norway and Sweden, this is only the gateway for me, and I didn't find myself too excited at visiting here. Stockholm is what I am really looking forward to, but first comes Oslo!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

ChristianiaChristiania
Christiania

Boring and a waste of time, all my opinion though, maybe others love this place?
CopenhagenCopenhagen
Copenhagen

In the distance you can just make out the Oresund Bridge and Sweden!
CopenhagenCopenhagen
Copenhagen

A view of the city from the tower of Vor Frelsers
Danish GuardDanish Guard
Danish Guard

And two tourists....
Coolest fountain EVER!Coolest fountain EVER!
Coolest fountain EVER!

There is even steam coming out of the nostrils of the bulls!
The Little MermaidThe Little Mermaid
The Little Mermaid

A pretty statue


2nd July 2005

got my posting
hey buddy i got my posting the other day and im headin off for halifax on august 30th hope all is well i love reading about your adventures cheers matt

Tot: 0.205s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1115s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb